Crafty numbers

Standard

 craftynumbers1.jpgcraftynumbers2.jpg

Another simple idea to teach number recognition as well as counting. I cut out the numbers from sugar paper. I then made a few piles of arts and crafts pieces. In this case: feathers, star stickers, lolly pop sticks, pom poms and pink squares.

Daughter covered the whole number in pritt stick glue. And I asked her what number it was. After this, I told her she needs to put the right number from each pile of crafts on to the number. So 1 pom pom on number 1, 1 feather on number 1, 1 star sticker on number 1, 3 pom poms on number 3, 3 pink squares on number 3 etc.

What was interesting about this was that I noticed that she really took extra care to count how many things she put on each number. She told me: ‘Ummi, I have to count them first’ and ‘Oh! I’ve got four pink squares – that’s wrong. I need 3 for number 3’. So it really showed that she understood the concept I was teaching her. Alhamdulillah.

2 responses »

  1. Assalamualaykum sister, Your site is lovely, maashAllah. I’m sure my daughters would really benefit from your ideas. InshAllah I’ll be visiting you here often. JazakAllahkhair.

  2. Walaikum Assalam Sis,

    Jzk for your kind comments. I pray that all that we do will be of benefit to you. Ameen.

    Wsm,
    Umm Raiyaan

Leave a Reply

