Trip to the Transport Museum

Standard

On Monday 11th February, we joined a wonderful group of homeschooling ummis and their children and went on a trip to the London Transport Museum in Covent Garden, London. The weather was beautiful, masha’Allah and the company was simply fantastic. Aside from the fact that my daughter thoroughly enjoyed seeing all the different trains and buses, it was especially nice for her to mix with other children as well as for me to meet others who are homeschooling too.

A lot of the mothers had been conversing via yahoo homeschooling groups but had never met each other in person. So when we all arrived at the entrance of the museum, it was really nice to put faces to names on yahoo group emails.

Here are a few pictures of what we saw. I thoroughly recommend it. It was clean, no music and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

photo-0053.jpgphoto-0054.jpgphoto-0055.jpgbus1.jpgbus2.jpg

PIC 1: An old steamer train

PIC 2: The museum was full of interesting buses, trains and other forms of transport. But trust my daughter to find a doll’s house in her pink hijab…of course!

PIC 3: View of the museum from the second floor.

PIC 4: A big red bus! I don’t know why they removed these off the roads. It brings back so many memories for me as a child – running for the bus and grabbing onto the pole as it slowly moved off.

PIC 5: An old (sixties) bus…I think!

We had a wonderful day and I really look forward to going on more trips with the sisters insha’Allah. For those of you who have not yet joined. Please do join muslimsandhomeeducation and homeeducatorsandukmuslims. They are both yahoo groups. Perhaps I will see you at the next trip insha’Allah. 😉

4 responses »

  1. Assalamu Alaikum Umm Rayyan…nice blog girlfriend!

    I went to the LT Museum a few months back and we loved it! My kids love vehicles and they couldn’t get enough of it. I loved seeing the buses and horses and cart type bus that reminded me of Dickensian London! And I stocked up on Underground Erasers and pencils and fridge magnets and there was this cool colouring book with transport scenes from London in it, which I found in the shop which my kids painted with watercolours when we got home.

    I’d love to go with a group next time…let me know when there are any group trips planned which I can come to please.

    Jazakillahu Khairan

    Fatima

  2. Walaikum Assalam wr wb,

    Hey girl! (LOL) I didn’t know you were checking out my blog. Mine is not as good as yours though. Do you still update it. Will definitely let you know about more trips. We are planning to go on a trip each month inshaAllah. Will speak to you about our upcoming trip when I see you in a couple of days insha’Allah.

    So, considering homeschooling again?! 😉 Come on! You were my inspiration!
    Take care,
    Umm R.

  3. I am still homeschooling! (I just happen to be sending my son to school too that’s all!! Ha ha)

    Recently I put up a post about a History curriculum. Check it out and tell me what you think.

    Hey read my poem on my blog about the ‘Wedding Night’ and tell me what you think OK.
    Masha Allah you and your daughter are so cute. Barak Allah Feekum!
    Fatima

  4. Wa alaikumus salaam by the way. I like the way you can categorise your blog. I don’t think I can. Well I don’t know how.

    Your blog looks really useful Ma sha Allah. My blog started out as a Mother’s blog and then ended up being about other things too. Need to get more Mummy material on there again.
    Fatima

Leave a Reply

