Jungle Mania…

Standard

jungle1.jpgjungle3.jpgjungle2.jpgPlease click on the images to see them enlarged!

My husband was off recently and the weather was wet and windy…so we spent a nice day at home together as a family. I was quite ill so asked him to pleeeeeeeeease entertain our daughter for some time so that I could rest a little. ‘Just do anything with her!’ I exclaimed in frustration. ‘Read a book, colour in a picture – I’m really tired and need to rest!’ So, in true male fashion – he couldn’t just do a simple activity like I would have done. Oh no! He had to show how rubbish my arts and crafts lessons are with her and built a jungle for her collection of animals to reside in…from scratch!

I couldn’t believe my eyes when I walked into the room to find a complete jungle/rainforest with mountain and river and trees and…and….and. Well, I hate to admit it but I was deeply impressed. So this is how he and my daughter did it:

They unfolded a huge cardboard box and painted it green for grass. They then took a bunch of flowers a sister had bought me, and hot glued (with the glue gun) branches of leaves and flowers to form trees onto their ‘grass’. They then scattered leaves and petals from my beautiful bunch of flowers all over like a jungle floor. Sand was used to create the mountain. Blue paint was then drizzled from the mountain top and painted on the green ‘grass’ to form the river. And there you had it – your very own home-made jungle. My daughter played with it for days. Her fish were placed carefully in the river. Monkeys hung from the trees (literally!). Cows and tigers feasted on leaves of other trees. It was definitely a spectacle. I videod it with the animals in there. I will try to post the video on the blog. Not quite sure how you do it yet, but I just think you’ve got to see it. Anyway, thats her art lessons shifted over to hubby then… 😉 😉

8 responses »

  1. Absolutely wonderful job they did, I really enjoyed the peak… Thanks, Ds needs to do a diorama for a project and we will now have renewed vigor…
    😉

  2. As salaamu alaykum, I like the new look, first time seeing it (in case you changed it a while ago, smile). That is a wonderful project. When my oldest was about 5, he and his Abu did something similar (though not as spectacular) and my son loved it. He was in an Islamic kindergarten at the time and took it to show and tell (big mistake, the kids tore it up). But it was such great, quality Abi/child time masha Allah that my son will never forget, Allahu ilm.

    Two of my kids happened to make something similar this week on their own. They had a blast.

  3. As-salaamu’alaykum wa Rahmatu Llahi wa Barakatuhu my dearest sister,

    Tabarak’Allah! Look at that.. definitely my kind of art project 😀 I absolutely love it.

    Jazaki’Allahu khair for sharing it with us, much appreciated.

    Wa’alaykum as-salaam
    Love Farhana

  4. Pingback: Spring and our HE! « Ummi Homeschools Me!!

Leave a Reply

