We’re Back!!

Standard

So, after what seems like absolutely forever…we are back to homeschooling. I started this week and my dear R was so happy to do school again. We are currently going through the 6 week plan that I planned before having the baby and it is going quite well masha’Allah. The lessons are spread throughout the week now due to stuff I have to do with little Z. But it seems to work out fine. During the week, we do reading, maths, writing, science, art and Islamic Studies. I do include Qu’ran revision in there as well as going through the new surah that she is learning. At the moment she has memorised all her surahs from Nas to Zalzalah. Alhamdulillah. I am very happy with her progress with the Qu’ran. My husband takes her every afternoon and also goes through her surahs with her which means she has quite a lot of Qu’ran time during her day.

What I want to start with her now that she has memorised quite a lot is to start teaching her to actually READ Qu’ran. So at the start of our ‘school day’, I am going to spend 10 minutes every day with her going through a simple Qu’ran reading book to teach her all the harakat etc. I think at the age of 4, this is a good age to start insha’Allah. Our hope is for her to memorise all the Qu’ran. Although she has memorised a fair bit, without actually reading from an early age…she will not be able to progress in her hifz.

Since I haven’t posted for such a long time, I thought I’d share a few things we have made or are using over the next coming weeks insha’Allah. I pray that they are of benefit to you insha’Allah.

READING

   I have made quite a few bits and pieces for these 6 weeks of lessons. Firstly, we have string joining. I photocopied the pages from The Jolly Phonics Handbook, laminated them, punched holes next to each word and picture and thread thick plastic string through one hole. The length of the string is big enough to keep threading until all words are matched to their pictures. R is to sound out each word and then aim to read the word and then thread it to the picture.

The next resource I made is the ‘Reading Chart’. I designed this myself! I am no graphic designer. As you can see, there is a column for words, a column for High Frequency words or Tricky words and a column for captions. Every time we have a reading lesson, I bring out my pack of cards which I made myself. They include all the phase 2 words that need to be learnt and all the phase 2 captions from the Letters and Sounds strategy from the Standards website. I allow R to choose 6 words, 6 high frequency words and 6 captions. She is to sound them out and read them. If she gets all 6 words in the ‘word’ column correct, she is allowed a sweetie. If all the high frequency words are read properly, she is allowed to play a game on the computer and if she reads the captions correctly…a fun day out!

 

null

This resource was really easy to make. This is to teach the tricky words or high frequency words. It is called LOTTO. I drew 3 charts (there are ony 2 in the picture) of all the tricky words that she needs to learn. She dips her hand into the green pouch that I made, takes out a card with a tricky word and matches it to her board. She needs to try and read the card that she picks out. This game can be played in two ways. Either I can compete with her and we see who can fill their board up first. Or, I can set a timer and she can try to beat her previous time in reading the words and putting them on to her board.

This is a picture of one of the many word sliders I have made. It was a little bit difficult to make, only because I knew what I wanted to make but had no idea how to put it together. So, this is how I did it: I took two pieces of card that were the same colour. With one of the pieces, I divided the card into 3 equal parts with a pencil and ruler. So there should be two lines on the page (this was done with the card in a vertical position. I left 5 cms from each end of the card and cut along the 2 lines so that slits were born! I then took the same coloured piece of card and put it behind the card with the slits and stapled both of them all around the edges. Between the two slits that were cut, I drew the first letter of the words. With a different piece of coloured card, I cut out a slide and drew the remaining letters of all the words that would be formed. In the above case, it is ‘an’. R then simply slides the slide and forms the words. I have done this with ‘ed’ ‘ug’ ‘at’ etc.

 

MATHS

 

Both above pictures are photocopies from a brilliant book I found in Borders Bookshop called Early Learning Goals Learning Development by Scholastic. They include Reading, Writing, Maths and other subjects and provide photocopiable activity sheets and what to do with your child. Excellent resource to buy that could be used with other children. The first picture is called With A Cherry on Top. Firstly, she wrote the numbers one each cake. Then R rolled a dice and had to recognise the number on the dice and move the counter along. I also played with her. If my counter landed on a cake with a cherry on the top then I had to move back a space. The first counter to the FINISH won! R doesn’t seem to understand the concept of winning and losing yet, so if there are any games with a ‘FINISH’ line I put a sweet there. Anyone who wins gets the sweet. This is my way of teaching her the concept of winning and losing.

The second picture is a resource that I think I will try to ‘islamicize!’ You simply ask the child to roll the dice. She looks at the dice dots, recognises the number and colours in the ladybird with that many dots. The way I would try to Islamicize it would be by drawing hijabs or prayer mats etc. Anyway, good resource for recognizing numbers and also for counting.

The next Maths resource was really fun to make. I love it and will be using it over the next few months insha’Allah.

null

And this is how we made it! Took different coloured pieces of felt and cut out a picture. In my daughter’s case, a butterfly! I then allowed her to cut out lots of pieces of purple felt as spots (or squares, as she couldn’t cut round pieces) to make the butterfly’s wings look pretty. R stuck down the pieces of the butterfly on to the card. We then made a longish type of holder. I then made lots of cards with numbers on them and two pieces of green felt with the plus sign and equals sign. Once all of this was finished, I asked R to choose how many spots to put on each wing of the butterfly. She placed the purple squares on to each wing. There is no need to stick them on as felt sticks to felt. I then asked her to count how many spots there were on the yellow wing and to find that number on one of the cards and put it in the holder. I then placed the plus sign next to it. I asked her to do the same for the blue wing. I placed the equals sign after this number. She asked me what these two signs meant and I explained that each number represented the number of spots on each wing but how many spots did the butterfly have altogether. She counted them and then found the corresponding number on a card and placed it next to the equal sign. This is how I taught her the concept of adding and we just keep taking all the spots off and making new sums. It is fun for her and she is learning to add!

Finally, we made the wudu game. This is from the yemenlinks.com site and I simply printed it out on card, cut the pieces, laminated it, cut it again and R has to put them in order. To make it more fun, after she puts the wudu pieces in order she can then try to follow the pictures and make wudu…she loves it!
As you can see, I had a very busy week making all of this and she had a very busy week using them and learning. It was tiring but well worth it. With everything that has happened since I went into labout almost 4 months ago, we haven’t had the chance to get back into the swing of things. We have now and I feel happy and she feels happy being homeschooled!
To finish, yesterday I took R to our local Kumon centre and I registered her on to their Maths and English programs. She received her yellow box, a counting chart and her reward sticker chart. She officially starts on Tuesday and can’t wait to receive her homework that she will have to do everyday! Is it me or are homeschooled kids the only ones who actually look forward to receiving homework!!
Hope you enjoyed this post, do leave your questions or comments and look forward to sharing more with you soon insha’Allah!
5 responses »

  1. bismillah
    as salam alaykum wa rahmatullah wa barakatu
    mashallah
    you have been very busy mashallah, really love all the projects. you know, i think homeschooling is so hard but then you make it sound so easy… well ok… its easy except for the hard work the mom gots to do:) lol
    will have to chat with you about this 6 week program. i would like to start it for dd. i mean a version of it, so her day is not helter skelter inshallah.
    fi hubiAllah

  2. Assalaamu ‘alaikum sis,

    I’m so proud of you mashaa`Allaah – you’re back on track, YAY! I’m in the process of doing some plans for the summer hols. Do you think I should ‘slow things down’? It’s the greatest time for trips and sight-seeing… I feel excited just thinking about it!

    **hug**

    ~ Umm J.

  3. Assalamu alaykum ukhti, I haven’t visited you here for so long…sorry 😦
    I am so praoud you made it back to homeschooling R. She is just a bright child mash’Allah! Your resources are great and I don;t know where you find the time to make your own resources. Mash’Allah.

  4. Ws wr wb,

    Jzk for all your comments sisters. Umm J – slow things down? How? I say go for it because during Ramadan, you prob won’t be going out that much right?

    x

Leave a Reply

