Daily Archives: July 29, 2008

Time to reorganise!

Standard

Life is definitely not the same with two children. But I love it! Alhamdulillah. But I need to be serious about all the committments I have and I need to prioritise and organise. So that has meant completely changing my timetable so that each major task on each day is given its full right and time! So, that has meant certain days for homeschooling, certain days for washing, ironing, cleaning etc, certain days for dawah activities and little slots of time every day for personal ibadah. I have been following this timetable just over a week now and I can honestly say that alhamdulillah Allah has blessed it and it has been working. MashaAllah.

As a result, with homeschooling R, we do a science/art activity on one day, a full homeschool day three times a week (reading, maths, writing and Islamic Studies as well as our new ongoing project – more on that later inshaAllah!) and a trip/playgroup/library day on one day. Each day we do qu’ran reading practice and revise all of her surahs that she has memorised as well as the new one she is memorising and also Kumon homework. Alhamdulillah, R is already able to read all of her fatha, kasrah, and damma letters as well as joining a few words. I can’t wait til she actually reads her first page of Qu’ran!! 

On to Kumon, the instructor at our local centre contacted me yesterday and said that this is the first time she has had to deal with a home-educated student! When we first started with Kumon, she asked me how old R was and put her right at the beginning of Kumon Maths and English because of how young she is. She quickly realised that the work she gave R was far too easy and is now having to rethink her ‘usual system’. She told me that she was surprised that a homeschooled child was jumping Kumon levels from such a young age. Okay, so I was proud of my daughter but I was so proud to be homeschooling – the differences are crystal clear!