Time to reorganise!

Standard

Life is definitely not the same with two children. But I love it! Alhamdulillah. But I need to be serious about all the committments I have and I need to prioritise and organise. So that has meant completely changing my timetable so that each major task on each day is given its full right and time! So, that has meant certain days for homeschooling, certain days for washing, ironing, cleaning etc, certain days for dawah activities and little slots of time every day for personal ibadah. I have been following this timetable just over a week now and I can honestly say that alhamdulillah Allah has blessed it and it has been working. MashaAllah.

As a result, with homeschooling R, we do a science/art activity on one day, a full homeschool day three times a week (reading, maths, writing and Islamic Studies as well as our new ongoing project – more on that later inshaAllah!) and a trip/playgroup/library day on one day. Each day we do qu’ran reading practice and revise all of her surahs that she has memorised as well as the new one she is memorising and also Kumon homework. Alhamdulillah, R is already able to read all of her fatha, kasrah, and damma letters as well as joining a few words. I can’t wait til she actually reads her first page of Qu’ran!! 

On to Kumon, the instructor at our local centre contacted me yesterday and said that this is the first time she has had to deal with a home-educated student! When we first started with Kumon, she asked me how old R was and put her right at the beginning of Kumon Maths and English because of how young she is. She quickly realised that the work she gave R was far too easy and is now having to rethink her ‘usual system’. She told me that she was surprised that a homeschooled child was jumping Kumon levels from such a young age. Okay, so I was proud of my daughter but I was so proud to be homeschooling – the differences are crystal clear!

5 responses »

  1. Assalamu alaykum sis,
    how do you find Kumon? i wanted to try it with A and S but not sure. Also I think it is a bit expensive. Do they run only in the afternoon? Sorry lots of qs.
    Well done on R with the reading of Arabic, great stuff. Mash’Allah tabarak’Allah!

  2. assalamualaikum

    i really admire you sister. i’m also a mother of 2 and my youngest is merely 2mos old, and i’m so full of them.can’t seem to have enough time everyday.maybe i need to reorganized my life and be more seroius on homeschooling.btw how old is your R?if she is about my son age can you share with me science activity because i have no idea at all!

  3. Ws wr wb Sisters!

    MTTHE: Kumon is good masha’Allah but it is quite expensive. I am not sure if I will continue. My local centre runs from 4 to 6 twice a week. Jzk for your comments sis.

    Mommy2h: Jzk sis for your comments. My R will be 4 years old in Oct insha’Allah. I will try to post some science activities that we have done. I believe there is one post showing pics of one science activity that we did. Check it out insha’Allah. 🙂

  4. As-salaamu’alaykum wa Rahmatu Llahi wa Barakatuhu my dearest sister,

    Oooh..it’s so true, homeschooled children seem to be way ahead. I don’t know if it’s the one-on-one, or because the holidays are not so long, .. or a lot of school time is waste time (and really, I find this all the way to Uni.. people love to waste time!) My cousin homeschools her children and one year she sent them to regular classes, the teacher sent them home because they know too much :/ (alhumduliLlah)

    Wa’alaykum as-salaam
    Love Farhana

  5. Salam sister how are you? I am thinking to homeschool my children too but don’t know what do I start with and do I have to have some skills or special knowledge to do that? Please can you give me some advice?

Leave a Reply

