Our Ramadan 2008 Activities

Standard

This is what we have been up to this month.

A moon phase calendar that my daughter is following every day of this month. We learn how the moon looks every day this month.

She also colours in one square per day to teach her the concept of time during Ramadan. She can see that eid is nearing! Normally, she colours in very well. But she doesn’t seem to be too bothered as she normally is. I think she is quite fed up with colouring. Oh well, leave her to it. I am not going to be as ‘picky’ as I have been since starting to homeschool. A post on my changes a bit later insha’Allah.

We attempted a date chain, but I think the lack of food and water has left me clueless. I couldn’t make it! So we settled for this…anyway she loved it. Red cellphane, bows and pink ribbon…she was over the moon!

This is our Ramadan blessing tree. Every day, we write a blessing on a leaf and stick it onto our tree. And then, we try to discuss the concept of blessings and gratitude to Allah throughout the day. Alhamdulillah…it seems to be working. Daughter told me what she is thankful to Allah for at other times during the day. Some of the blessings made me laugh, such as cheese. (It isn’t in the picture because I took the picture a few days earlier) But then it made me think about what life would be like without cheese (am a huge cheese lover) and knowing how expensive cheese is in Algeria (where my in laws live), I have learnt that this is indeed a blessing from Allah (Swt). Homeschooling for me I think!

This is our chain calendar. Every day, we add a chain and I have told my daughter that once we have all 29 or 30 chains, we will hang it up along with an ‘Eid Mubarak’ banner that we will insha’Allah make so that when we wake up for Eid, the living room will be nicely decorated!

We finally made fanoos. Last Friday, I made hubby make one with our daughter and I also made one with her. I can’t believe the amount of competition between us as to who could make the best one! LOL! Come on, which one is the best one?! Comments please!

We are also making our Ramadan ABC book. A picture which has something to do with Ramadan is put into the book (one every day) corresponding to the order of the alphabet. Daughter often picks it up and we discuss the importance of each picture and what that really means in Ramadan.

We are also working on lots of different sheets and mini books for our first ever lapbook. Once it is finished, I will inshaAllah upload pictures and explanation.

5 responses »

  1. Masha Allah, you have been busy. We haven’t been to crafty or productive th is Ramadan as in the past, as i rely heavily on the computer. (still no excuse). I am finding that we just have to resort back to doing more stuff by hand.

  2. Assalamu alaykum dearest ukhti, you see I knew it you came out stronger! i love your activities and I am R is enjoying them too. Just little goes a long way. You don’t need to sit and teach in order for your child to learn. You know me and I am for unschooling! Well done on you and R. I love your blessing tree and the mosaic must have been such an entertainmnet!
    love and hugs and insh’Allah will see you soon

  3. Asalaamu Alaykum wa Rahmatullaah

    Alhamdulillaah you decided to stick with it! My sons’ also coloured the calender from Talibiddeen Jr; however they got over enthusiastic and coloured it all in at once!

    Not sure if it is in every WHSmith or just the ones at stations and service stations’ but while travelling the other day they had some really nice sticker books; learning books and colouring books which were already reasonable but they were all buy one get one half price. They had a really nice sticker picture dictionary that the two boys were enjoying today; and also colouring books where you can learn a word a page; that have a glittery outline around the picture

Leave a Reply

