A surprise for me and our HE!

Standard

Can’t believe how long it has been since I last posted! The IHSAN Website is really taking up a lot of my time. It is still in its early stages. Actually, it is the IHSAN forum that is the real culprit!

Anyway, we have been quite busy. I think I’ll start with the ‘Take it to your seat centers’ that we made together. I know I have said this before, but I really think a lot of the learning occurs in making resources together.

We made two centers: a Time center and a Human Body center for the two units we are currently working on. Here are the pics:

dsc00555

 dsc00556

dsc00557

 

dsc00558

dsc00559dsc00561

These centers were really easy. I bought them about a year ago and haven’t started using them until now. I doubt I’ll be making anymore as they are preK-K. Think I’ll put them away in storage to make and use with her little brother insha’Allah. You can buy centers for any age level and they really are worth it. I bought a book that contained 14 centers for just over £10. Each game would cost you just less than that in a shop. All you need to buy is a laminator (in this case we didn’t use one), the paper bag or envelope to store the center and thats it.  You can buy the centers from a dear sister who sells them at Stimulus Learning. She sells all the age levels.

R has shown an interest in shapes recently. Apart from when she was 2 years old, we haven’t really studied shapes. But have to go with what interests her. One morning after waking up, she immediately took a bucket of bricks I bought her when she was 18 months old and made this by the time I brought breakfast in! I was quite impressed masha’Allah:

dsc00563 As you can see, she copied the picture on the actual ‘box’ (or bucket!)

Again, was making dinner and when I came into her room to check on what she was doing, she had completed this:

dsc00564

Okay, now here is the exciting part. And I have been wanting to blog about this ever since I got it. I am the proud owner of a second-hand bicycle! Complete with basket! 🙂 (BIG GRIN) Now, just so as you know, I do wear full hijab with abaya and half big hijab and yes I am able to wear exactly that and nothing shows at all! It is a lady’s bicycle which I think makes all the difference. Went for a ride with R today and it was gorgeous masha’Allah. Wanted to take a pic but forgot! Anyway, whilst we were out cycling we talked about road safety. So when we got home, we worked on this:

dsc00566

dsc00565

Masha’Allah she enjoyed it so much she actually finished it. We got it free from somewhere but I know you can call the Department for Transport and they will send it to you insha’Allah.

We have also been reading a lot. I received the full set of the Oxford Reading Tree series from my library. She is continuing to read them to me. She seems to be trying to read most things especially billboards when we are in the car. I’m kinda worried what to do when she reads the billboards that advertise things she shouldn’t be seeing!

Not as much Qu’ran has been done as in the last few weeks. But alhamdulillah she completed memorising surah fajr and keeps telling me she is almost there til she gets her party here and Allah (swt) reserves something for her in jannah (inshaALLAH).

And that is all I can think of at the moment…feeling very sleepy…those long summer days!

Happy homeschooling! 🙂

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

