Quickie

Standard

I am really failing at blogging! Feel quite bad that I am neglecting ‘Ummihomeschoolsme’. But, my heart is attached to another!

Anyway, thought I would quickly post a little update (no pics sorry!) of our HE.

We have been doing things slightly differently. A lot of nature walks – I’ve been inspired by the Charlotte Mason method. This has gone down very very well masha’Allah. It is great for R and for me. Love it. 🙂

I try and read to R every day, she practised reading to me every day.

A lot of our HE has been mainly reading and Qu’ran recently. Alhamdulillah she finished memorising surah Ghashiyah and is now on to the next surah. Her reading of the Qu’ranic script is improving very slowly. I think we are trying to work on the hifdh more than the reading.

R has been working on addition and masha’Allah has grasped the concept quite nicely. I’ll post a pic on this later (we used pasta shells as an addition tool!)

We have spent a lot of time talking and me answering her 1000s of questions. I have realised this is just as important, if not more important than workbooks. Listening to a child can lead to so many things and we too can learn so much from them.

Now, another reason why I have been taking it easy on the ‘structure and timetable’, is that I have been given a challenge! 🙂

I am to homeschool R for 2 weeks using the unschooling method (AHHHHHH!)This challenge has been given to me by my dear sister who runs SISTERS Magazine. Now, for those of you who know me, or who have been following the blog, I am not an unschooler at all! Hence this being a real challenge. I basically need to put the timetable aside and unschool. How on earth am I going to do this?! Just so that I don’t completely freak out when I start the challenge (I’ll let you know when I officially decide to do it), I thought I’d give myself a little taster and so that is kind of, emphasis on ‘kind of’, doing.

I have been reading a book my dear sister who is HE via the unschooling method lent me. It is called The Unschooling Handbook. A very interesting read – but am still freaking out!! 🙂

Anyway, you will be able to read up about my challenge here as well as in the SISTERS Magazine where it should be published later this year.

Also, I have uploaded a new page at the top called Resources for 1-100.

8 responses »

  1. We unschooled for a week. I just thought of it as a holiday and that helped me psychologically, so I didn’t feel like we were ‘missing’ out on lessons. It was a great week and although lots of unstructured learning happened, I realised those unstructured learning opportunities were taking place anyway, even during our more structured days. I see those as a supplement. I could never be a complete unschooler. 🙂

    Enjoy your 2 weeks. May Allah make it easy and beneficial for you all.

  2. Assalamu alaykum sis,
    good on you to try out unschooling! I hope you will enjoy and take full benefit if only for two weeks. That doesn;t mean that you won;t be doing a thing!! Believe me you will rush your feet off…unschooling requires lot of resources, communication and you need to be ready with whatever fancy your child. Anyhow I am sure you will do brillinatly good.

    Re: Unschooling handbook is really all you need and lots of patience as you do. Mash’Allah
    Keep me update.
    x

    • Ws wr wb! Lol! I knew you would send me a message as soon as you knew I would try out unschooling! LOL! 🙂

      Mmm..still nervous about it and still haven’t picked a date to start. But we shall see how it goes. And I may have the handbook sis, but I definitely don’t have the patience. LOL! Make dua! 🙂

  3. السلام عليكم و رحمه الله و بركاته

    Oh… I so understand how you feel about being attached to IHSAN – it is a LOVELY place ma shaa Allah 🙂

  4. Salam my dear sister.
    Interesting…..unschooling.
    I think that it sounds very interesting, think of it as like a conclusion to all your hard work that you have put into HE. Let your daughter take the reins, I’m sure that you will be pleasently surprised. Take a step back, you have nothing to loose, R is a great kid masha Allah.
    Whatever happens I’m sure you will only get positive feedback.
    Praying only for the best for you.

    • Conclusion!!! 🙂

      No, I understand what you mean. Maybe I will be pleasantly surprised. What happened about edu city sis?? 😉

Leave a Reply

