Busy busy!

Standard

I am really going to try and make a conscious effort to blog more. We have been so busy – so this is going to be a longish post.

Firstly, I received some advice in one of the discussions on the IHSAN forum. A sis mentioned that she does her cleaning in the evening when the kids have gone to bed, that way – when she wakes up, its dishes and beds to do and then she is free to home educate. I have implemented her advice and alhamdulillah it has proved wonders for our HE as well as me being less stressed during the day.

So, what have we been up to?

MATHS

dsc00569

Lots of addition work. Wanted to buy the rods that aid addition, but they were soooo expensive, so decided to use tiny pasta shells. Worked a treat. I know I keep going on about the Big Sticker Book of Maths from Usborne (bought it at bananas.co.uk for £3). But it really is fantastic.

dsc00579

dsc00581

We have been working on Time in Maths a lot lately. R has a watch which I bought for her a few months ago. She loves it and wears it almost everywhere. She is constantly telling me the time and asking if she is correct, so decided to really work on ‘telling the time’. The above book is excellent, it has a movable clock. We enjoy reading this book a lot.

We have also been working on a time lapbook which we completed today. I will do a post about that in the next couple of days insha’Allah.

LITERACY

I am really focussing on her reading. So a lot of work on the oo, ie, ee phonics. Alhamdulillah she is reading much better now. And can read the level 2 oxford reading tree quite well. Level 3 still requires my help but she is getting there masha’Allah. As you can see from the pics below, I really want her to remember a lot of her phonic work. So, I am going to try and make the learning of sounds like ‘ng’ and ‘ie’ etc more fun.

dsc00582

dsc00583

 

R loved writing and still does but I guess she is getting a bit tired. I still ask her to do copywork and a lot of our copywork has been based around another lapbook we have been working on – almost finished – but more on that in another post. Due soon inshaAllah – promise.

QURAN

Masha’Allah, she has been really working hard on her hifdh. She finished memorising surah Ghashiya and Surah Ala and is now on surah tariq. Not long to go insha’Allah before she completes juz amma.

ARABIC

She has been working a lot on Arabic. Alhamdulillah, I was fortunate enough to receive 2 big bags of books I ordered which a dear sister (I miss her soo much) brought with her when she was visiting the UK from Saudi. We have been using these with R. And alhamdulillah her vocab has improved. She speaks fusha fluently masha’Allah, but I keep telling my husband to use different vocab with her so as for her to improve. We are using this series (there are quite a few books in the series): From the book, the new words were drawn in pictures and written. We are going to make a huge wall poster out of them. This seems to be a good way for R, as this week she keeps telling me what the name of this is in Arabic and then cheekily telling me ‘But don’t worry Ummi, you don’t know! But one day insha’Allah you will learn Arabic!’

dsc00575

dsc00576

We have met up with quite a few HE families recently, and it is nice to see her form some lovely relationships with some friend’s children. Eg. today a sis called me, and all 3 sons wanted to speak to R which they did. I am very happy with the friendships she has formed. Alhamdulillah.

Not sure if I have ever posted these. The pics are not very clear, as they are stuck on the wall. These things have been on our wall since R was 2.5 years old. And they moved to our new place and are still on the door/wall. Every time we leave the house, she does through the checklist. Have I combed my hair, am I wearing hijab? Have I said my dua. You can find this here. Also, this poster from muslimstickers is ideal for any child who is memorising juz amma.

dsc00577

dsc00578

And that is it for now. See you soon insha’Allah when I post about the 3 (yes 3!) lapbooks we have been working on this week.

Happy Home Ed! 🙂

4 responses »

  1. Assalamu Allaykum,

    I really enjoy this blog, masha’Allah….
    I’m just wondering about your teaching methods for reading and math…..
    what are you using to base your lessons on?
    Jazak’Allahu Kheiran for your efforts and for the great pics (It seems you’ve got great resources in the UK – muslimstickers is an excellent site, thanks for introducing though it would be pricier to order it for here in Canada…..)

    • Ws wr wb

      Jzk for your comments sis. Methods for reading and math. 😉 I don’t know if I have any particular methods. I guess I try a bit of everything. I guess I know what I want her to learn, and then just hunt down for resources that will help me teach it.:) What is HE in Canada like?

Leave a Reply

