Two moments to treasure…

Standard

Masha’Allah, R has been reading for some time now, alhamdulillah. But yesterday she did something which I had actually been discussing with a sister only hours before. We were talking about the transition between learning to read and independently reading. Masha’Allah the sister’s daughter had done that and I wondered with great anticipation when R would become a ‘reader’. I was brought up surrounded by books and they have always played a huge part in my life and so I really wanted this for R, but for her to obviously do it in her own time and when it is right for her. Well, whilst I was on the IHSAN Forum, this happened:

DSC00636

DSC00634

I heard her start reading behind me and I didn’t budge. And masha’Allah she read it to herself! I didn’t ask her to get the book and read, she just casually got up, picked up a book and read! I can’t tell you how happy and proud I was. Masha’Allah. Allah (Swt) allowed for me to give my child the gift of reading. Have I ever expressed how much I love Home Education!

If that wasn’t enough, she also made this:

DSC00640It is her first piece of 100% independent writing! She sat there, drew some designs on the reverse side of the paper and then wrote this. There are quite a few spelling mistakes but masha’Allah, she did it on her own. It reads (with me correcting the spelling mistakes): “Ummi I love you. Thank you for the watch that you buy for me.” Again, a moment to treasure. And who says HEd doesn’t work! Eh?! But, you know what is really special…being able to witness such moments instead of hearing about them from a teacher who is a complete and utter stranger!

Anyway, what else have we been up to?

She has done quite a bit of adding but I think she doesn’t like it or just got fed up with it, so we stopped. We continued with our weather lapbook. She has almost finished memorising surah Buruj mashaAllah.

And…we have been cross-stiching. She did this all by herself after I showed her how:

DSC00633This came from Poundland. That’s right! 3 designs complete with 3 needles, all thread, 3 pieces of mesh and 3 design to copy all for £1! She really likes this thing, so I have told her that we can buy some of the material to draw he own designs on and then embroider like that.

Due to a sister posting up pics of her children’s butterfly entries for the Nature Detectives Competition, as well as seeing that my dear sister over at Always Learning had also done it, I thought why not enter R’s version of the butterfly. There are some amazing prizes to be won. But, I just thought she would just love to have abit of an arts and crafts day. It was also an opportunity for me to explain Symmetry. Afer explaining the concept of the symmetry of a butterfly, I left her to it and she started off like this:

DSC00637and then here is the finished piece:

DSC00639

She definitely understood the concept of symmetry masha’Allah. So off in the post tomorrow insha’Allah.

And finally, just to make you all laugh! Every Thursday, we attend the HE gathering in East London. The kids have a beautiful playground to play in and have the option of doing activities in the wonderful centre they give to us for two hours. This week, one of the dear sisters brought an activity along called scoubidous! Now, I have never heard of these and was intrigued. I asked her if I could have a go. And by the end of our session that Thursday, we had 10 mums sitting around the table making scoubidous. The kids were more interested in the bubble painting and playing outside, but we were hooked! All that was missing as one sister said was the tea and biscuits! It was hilarious. Anyway, here is mine..really it is quite relaxing. lol

DSC00638

Happy homeschooling! 🙂

5 responses »

  1. salam my dear sister
    i really am so pleased for you that R is reading, i totally agree with you that it is a very satisfying feeling, well done and keep up the hard work.

    • Ws wr wb

      Jzk sis. All is praise is due to Allah (Swt). I am very very grateful to Him. Allahu Akbar!

  2. Assalamu alaykum sis, R.is really progressing mashAllah!!
    And the cross stitching got me thinking. I read in IHSAN a sister used same craft with her boys! I saw the set in poundland and I will buy for my boys you never know I may be starting something beautiful!! Jazakillah for sharing. Will see soon. Wa alaykum assalam xx

Leave a Reply

