Thoughts on Planning for the rest of this year and next…

Standard

If R was going to enter school this coming September, it would be her ‘first’ year of school at reception level. We have been homeschooling now for the past 2 years. My approach has been the structured approach with some flexibility and I feel under slightly more pressure now that the coming year would be her entering school.  But, as per the advice of a few sisters, I am going to take it as easy as possible as masha’Allah we have covered quite a lot of the reception and some year 1 work already.

Next year is going to be a tough year for me – it is going to be my final year completing my English Language and Literature degree and so come September, I want to be fully prepared for R’s HE so that I don’t spend my time planning/searching for resources. I simply won’t have the time.  I don’t even know if I will have time to blog! Anyway, I have sorted all of the resources per subject into files. I just need to sort them into a monthly order. A sister who used to HE masha’Allah gave me folders and folders and folders of stuff for R to do. I am so very grateful. Alhamdulillah. And another sister, allowed me to photocopy quite a lot of reception stuff. So, workbook wise – I am sorted. I do want to make it fun though, so what I am going to do is make a structure for the year and slip in arts and crafts activities, projects, lapbooks, trips into all of that so that she enjoys it as much as she has been. I need to get all of this done way before August, as I want to spend the first few weeks of August spiritually preparing for Ramadhan inshaAllah and I do not want to plan or do anything else during Ramadhan except the Ramadhan activities I have planned.

As for this year, I have decided to scrap the rest of our timetable (!) Anything that we haven’t done will insha’Allah be incorporated into next year’s timetable. So until Ramadhan, we will be focussing on the following:

1. I want to consolidate all work on her Qu’ran reading. She has been working her way through the Qaeedah, but I would like to see her reading Qu’ran by Ramadhan insha’Allah.

2. I want to really push her reading skills insha’Allah. She is reading more to herself now and I just feel she needs a lot of my time sitting listening to her, reading to her and encouraging her to read more. So, a lot of phonics work and sight reading etc.

3. I would like her to finish the hifdh that she is working on insha’Allah.

4. Reading fiction in Arabic – insha’Allah the Qaeedah should help with that.

5. And anything else that she would like to do .

I feel that if she can do the above, then it will really make next year’s HE  quite different and more exciting for her. But if it doesn’t happen – no worries.

I do really like this aspect of HE, trying to get everything ready for next year. I just hope that I can make it as fun as possible for her insha’Allah. Make dua for us please.  🙂

3 responses »

  1. Asalam alaikum sis i admire ur enthusiasm and consistency. May Allah continue to assist and guide you. I am a teacher and mother of four between 7 and 1. Please I’ll like to know more about this reading fiction in Arabic u talked about. jazakallahu khayran

  2. Assalamualaikum sister,

    I’m trying to HS my son seriously this year since he has reach his preschool age but I’m still not organized with the workbook part. I’m still searching from internet and working on it but the problem is I have small baby to look after so I don’t have that much time.
    If you can share with me a little of things you have collected it will be a great help. Thank you

    Nor, Japan
    mommy2h at gmail dot com

  3. Assalam u alaikum wa rah wabrakatu

    dear sister

    i dont have any words to appreciate ur HS ur child

    i have been searching ur site since several months

    but i dont get any idea how to start with my girl who is 1 n a half year old

    i want to collect things for her……u know wht i mean ….the preparation….the plan which meets the desired goal

    truly speaking , i want to do HS with my baby

    but how !!!

    PLEASE GUIDE ME

    ALLAH WILL BLESS U WITH MUCH MUCH MORE
    INSHALLAH

    MY BABY WATCH BABY TV N THT I DONT LIKE….I WANT HER TO GET INTO OTHER ACTIVITIES

    PRATICAL ONES!

    I LUV UR IDEAS ! I WANT TO DO WITH MY CHILD …I FEEL THT I HAVE MUCH STRENGTH BIZNILLAH

    PLZ GUIDE ME ABT THE RESOURCES
    HOW CAN I START FROM THE SCRATCH!!!!

    I LL B WAITING FOR UR REPLY!!!

    TAKE CARE
    JAZAKALLAH KHAIR

    UMMESUBHANA:)

Leave a Reply

