Finally we are back!

Standard

I have been rather useless at blogging these past couple of months. But I have a good excuse for it. We will be expecting a new addition to the family in 6 months time. Yup, by the grace of Allah (Swt) I am just over 3 months pregnant. R is very excited and I am somewhat nervous as baby Z will no longer be a baby, but a very busy 2 year old when the baby is born inshaAllah.

The last 3 months have been full of morning sickness.  I actually feel irritated that they call it ‘morning’ sickness as mine was all day. Alhamdulillah, feeling much better now. 2 days after Ramadan began, I got bad food poisoning from prawns which got worse and had to go into hospital. Feel recovered somewhat and so today is my first official day of fasting. R has expressed her ardent wish to fast with us tomorrow which will be a Saturday. So, we have decided to wake her up for suhr and let her try. Lets see how it goes.

So, what have we been up to? Well, R went to Algeria and is back. She apparently had a wonderful time swimming in the sea, playing with monkeys in the Berber mountains. I used the time whilst she was away organising HE for next year. All resources are now organised into categories. It took my forever, but got there eventually. I now have lists of everything we have for each subject and they are all in one place.

DSC00732

DSC00738

Aside from that, we received our Ramadan Guide from Tailor Made Educational Guides which we have been working through. It feels so great to have everything ready. All I have to do every day is take a wallet: the instructions and resources are all there. We just need to follow it. As I have been ill, we are a little behind, so instead of one activity a day, we are doing two activities.  I think they are going to do a Hajj one, so looking forward to that one too inshaAllah. You can find more about them at http://www.tailormadeeducationalguides.co.uk

Here is something she made which was day 2’s activity of the guide – a Ramadan acrostic poem (it took her almost 2 hours to complete, but she persisted mashAllah):

DSC00741DSC00742

Our timetable for the year is finished! Yay! When I have time, I will add it to the top pages of the blog. We started our HE today. As it is Ramadan, it is not as full as our main timetable. This is what we are doing during Ramadan:

RAMADAN TIMETABLE

Quran         3 pages of revision
3 new ayat hifdh
2 pgs Qaidah

Literacy        Read to her
She reads two books to me
Literacy work x4
Handwriting x2

Maths            Maths work x4

Islamic Studies    Ramadan Guide from TMEG

Once Ramadan is over, we will switch to the full timetable which you can find here: (it probably looks a lot, but one activity takes no longer than 15-20 minutes)

HE Timetable 2009-10

And that is it for now.  Hope to be posting more regularly.

9 responses »

  1. As salaamu alaykum,

    Masha Allah. May Allah bless you with a happy, healthy and righteous baby.

    Its good you made great use of your time while your daughter was away and that she had fun.

    I like your timetable in that you just break it down by am and pm instead of strict times.

    What does the “x” mean?

    I’m still trying to figure out our plan for this next year as we continue getting used to our new home.

  2. Sister,

    Mashaalla, you amaze me, I can’t express how full of admiration I am for you! You are a supermum and you are doing a gread job with your dd’s education! I just wish I could be like you! My 3,5 year old son doesn’t want to spend more than 5 mins on reading or activities in books! You are so lucky your dd is so determined and willing to learn!

    One thing keeps surprising me though: how do you find time for all the HE and housework and cooking?! I know you talked about it before, but I just can’t see myself doing it! Cooking, cleaning… it all takes lots of time. I wish I could spend a day in your house watching your amazing routine of the day!

    Sister, there is one thing I wanted to ask you from the bottom of my heart… I know it is a HE blog, but would you mind sharing your menu and recipes (you could do it on the blog or email me if you prefer). I know it sounds silly, but it really isn’t, if you knew me… If I knew what to cook to last us for 2 days like you do, I would be able to concentrate so much more on the HE of my children. This is a really genuine request… I know you are pregnant and busy, but may be you could share yor menu at least to start me with sth, please sister, please! I hope it is not too much or too silly to ask for! It s a desperate call for help! Jazakallahu khair and may Allah reward you.

    • Ws wr wb

      Jzk for your kind comments sister. But really, I am far from being a supermum. I don’t know where I find the time. Sometimes it is tough and other days run smooth. I guess the key is in making dua to Allah for baraka in time.

      I will try and include more recipes on the blog – but take it from me, I am far from being a master chef!

  3. Mubruk on your great news! Inshallah you have a smooth and easy pregnancy and may Allah swt grant you a beautiful, healthy, pious baby inshllah.
    Alhumdillilah your daughter is back. It looks like you really did alot mashallah. Everything sounds so organised.
    I may need to ask your help soon inshallah! 😉
    x

  4. Assalamu alaykum sis,
    I am just back online and read your news mash’Allah!!.
    I dreamt of you about a month ago and saw you were pregnant, cannot remember if it was a boy or girl. Subhan’Allah!
    La hawla wa la quwwata illah billah. May Allah give you an easy pregnancy and labour,Amin.
    I so like the way you are organized mash’Allah. Well done! I like to be organized too, it makes life easier.
    Hamdulillah.
    Chat soon,
    wa alaykum assalam
    x

  5. Mashallah that’s fantastic news. How exciting. So sorry to hear about your health problems. I hope Allah gives you a healthy preganacy and wonderful baby with good health and eman at the end of it.x

Leave a Reply

