Keeping to schedule

Standard

Uploaded a new page (see the top of the blog) which includes our timetable which has been tweaked a bit since I included it in my previous post.

Alhamdulillah, we have really been enjoying our HE. We have kept to schedule except afternoons which I had a bit of a problem with. For me after lunch, I kind of wind down and don’t want her to do anything that is messy. But I have had to overcome my fear and just let her get on with it. I really have relaxed about things like cleanliness and really just letting her enjoy the HE experience and I can see that she has been learning a whole lot more.

A very dear sister who is also HE (she knows who she is) has been a rock to me. I don’t think she realises how much. I don’t take illness very well in that it drives me mad when I can’t do what I normaly do. At a time when I felt like I couldn’t go back to normal, she helped me and continues to help me see what HE is all about.  May Allah (Swt) bless her and her family and their HE journey. Ameen.

So, anyway – what have we been up to? I’ll let the pics do the talking:

I have realised that in order for HE to go smoothly with R. I have to make sure that baby Z who is almost 18 months old is occupied. I found Mr. drawing all over the walls with a fat blue crayon. The curtain rail broke as he thought he was tarzan and we had to buy a new keyboard for the PC! So different to his sister. Anyway, it seems that he likes puzzles and was occupied for a full 40 minutes!! These puzzles were stored away til he reached 3 but he really enjoys them. Alhamdulillah.

I have realised that in order for HE to go smoothly with R. I have to make sure that baby Z who is almost 18 months old is occupied. I found Mr. drawing all over the walls with a fat blue crayon. The curtain rail broke as he thought he was tarzan and we had to buy a new keyboard for the PC! So different to his sister. Anyway, it seems that he likes puzzles and was occupied for a full 40 minutes!! These puzzles were stored away til he reached 3 but he really enjoys them. Alhamdulillah.

Every day she reads 2 books to me and I read at least one to her. We really enjoyed this book. I was surprised how much.

Every day she reads 2 books to me and I read at least one to her. We really enjoyed this book. I was surprised how much.

We are revising her reading and are using the Ruth Miskin Series. She can read these books quite easily, but I want to use these next few weeks to review everything we did last year before moving on to more difficult books. She feels quite happy when she reads the entire story all on her own. This series is good because it gives the parent questions to ask the child as you read through the story.

We are revising her reading and are using the Ruth Miskin Series. She can read these books quite easily, but I want to use these next few weeks to review everything we did last year before moving on to more difficult books. She feels quite happy when she reads the entire story all on her own. This series is good because it gives the parent questions to ask the child as you read through the story.

We were waiting for the butchers to open and the kids enjoyed chasing pigeons. It was a nice moment for me, reflecting over the ayat in surah mulk - that it is Allah (Swt) who keeps the birds afloat in the sky.

We were waiting for the butchers to open and the kids enjoyed chasing pigeons. It was a nice moment for me, reflecting over the ayat in surah mulk - that it is Allah (Swt) who keeps the birds afloat in the sky.

Hubby didn't like the traditional Qaidah which uses the Asian style of Arabic. He's not used to it and wanted the other style (can't remember the name of it) So, I was given this by a sister and mashaAllah the lessons work perfectly with R. MashaaAllah, she is progressing nicely. We do 1-2 pages of this a day.

Hubby didn't like the traditional Qaidah which uses the Asian style of Arabic. He's not used to it and wanted the other style (can't remember the name of it) So, I was given this by a sister and mashaAllah the lessons work perfectly with R. MashaaAllah, she is progressing nicely. We do 1-2 pages of this a day.

We made date parcels which was one of the activities from the TMEG Ramadan Guide.

We made date parcels which was one of the activities from the TMEG Ramadan Guide.

She decided which Islamic reminders she wanted to put into the date parcels. Can you figure out what the picture is? ;) It was a good idea from TMEG as we have been discussing the meaning of the reminders at the time of iftar as suggested.

She decided which Islamic reminders she wanted to put into the date parcels. Can you figure out what the picture is? 😉 It was a good idea from TMEG as we have been discussing the meaning of the reminders at the time of iftar as suggested.

She has started her swimming lessons and has had two lessons so far. She is really enjoying it mashaAllah. The course lasts for 14 weeks and then she can move on to the next level.

She has started her swimming lessons and has had two lessons so far. She is really enjoying it mashaAllah. The course lasts for 14 weeks and then she can move on to the next level.

I am using A&C Black for Maths. Some of the stuff is really easy for her, but I want to cover all the reception stuff as revision. I think we will be switching to Year 1 fairly soon inshaAllah. If it really does get to easy, I'll just scrap the Reception stuff and move on to year 1 straight away. AND THAT IS THE BEAUTY OF HE. If she was in school, we would HAVE to stick with reception level! What if she is a whizz at Maths and progresses to Year 3 work whilst she is still at reception level age - HE allows you to do that.

I am using A&C Black for Maths. Some of the stuff is really easy for her, but I want to cover all the reception stuff as revision. I think we will be switching to Year 1 fairly soon inshaAllah. If it really does get to easy, I'll just scrap the Reception stuff and move on to year 1 straight away. AND THAT IS THE BEAUTY OF HE. If she was in school, we would HAVE to stick with reception level! What if she is a whizz at Maths and progresses to Year 3 work whilst she is still at reception level age - HE allows you to do that.

2 responses »

  1. Sis, you are doing so well mashaAllah, really inspiring stuff mashaAllah. I should get on and organise my resources but there’s so much it would take forever and a day so I couldn’t even think about going there lol! Wassalaam xxx

  2. I seem to be physically unable to keep to a schedule..lol..seriously, no matter how much I want it I just don’t seem to have the necessary discipline, I pray that Allah gives me discipline in deen first and then ‘life’ inshaAllah. xxx

Leave a Reply

