What a week!

Standard

So, where do I even begin?!

DSC00778

Our life is in boxes and it has been a little difficult with the kids as they want their things. We were due to move into our new place on Sat 17th and then I received a phone call saying that the landlord has withdrawn! I broke down crying out of pure frustration (and tiredness). We had booked the van, cancelled bills etc and even put a deposit down. When my hormones settled, I realised that Allah (Swt) had definitely saved us from something. Both DH and I had prayed istikhara, so without a doubt Allah knew that this place was not good for us. The only thing was, the flat we are currently in had already been taking by new tenants and we were due to move out on 17th Oct which is only a few days away!

So, the hunt was on. We needed to find a new place and fast. Really  – Allah is indeed the Best of Planners. And last night we found a place which is much better in all ways than the one that we lost. Alhamdulillah, alhamdulillah, alhamdulillah. So, we will be moving out as planned in a few days inshaAllah.

As all of our stuff is in boxes, I am trying to be out as much as possible with the kids. So we have spent some lovely sunny days here. I love this place and am happy that we are not moving far from it:

Do you know what I love about HE? The relationship between siblings is strengthened. Alhamdulillah.

Do you know what I love about HE? The relationship between siblings is strengthened. Alhamdulillah.

The time was spot on on the sun dial and we discussed how 'telling the time' has evolved throughout history.

The time was spot on on the sun dial and we discussed how 'telling the time' has evolved throughout history.

DSC00785

DSC00786

R was thrilled that the olives on this olive tree were growing. I'm not sure if you can make them out, but this olive tree was FULL!

R was thrilled that the olives on this olive tree were growing. I'm not sure if you can make them out, but this olive tree was FULL!

DSC00783

DSC00781

After this lovely day, R collected some leaves and did some leaf printing at home.

DSC00774

What was especially nice this week was attending the shahaadah of a lady I’ve been in touch with. MashaAllah she decided to take her shahaadah and along with another sister, we were honoured to witness her enter into Islam . It was especially nice as R was there to witness it. She was very happy and asked me a sweet question “Ummi, did she become Muslim because of the dua I make every night for all the non-muslims to become Muslim?” And you know what, who knows… Sometimes we do not know whether the dua of one of our sisters/brothers changes our situation or indeed those of others. When I was hunting for a new place, a sister texted me and said “Making dua you find a place near the masjid.” And that is what we found, alhamdulillah.

This week has made me think about sincerity. My level (and lack of) sincerity, my weaknesses as a Muslimah, and how important it is not just to teach my kids to read or write or even memorise the Quran but subhanaAllah, to try and build a beautiful Islamic character by the will of Allah. And it starts by me changing myself so that I can be a good example inshaAllah. Here are some pictures of ourselves in Regents Park, the day that the sister entered Islam:

DSC00777

R was intrigued by this bird. The subject of animals is not my thing, so only know what a pigeon and swan is. Alhamdulillah, the sister to be knew that it was heron. So we both learnt something today!

R was intrigued by this bird. The subject of animals is not my thing, so only know what a pigeon and swan is. Alhamdulillah, the sister to be knew that it was heron. So we both learnt something today!

And to leave on a deep note, please read the following entry from my dear sister and friend”s blog. Her words struck a very deep chord…

http://muslimmotherhood.blogspot.com/2009/10/reflections-of-transient-nature-of-life.html

2 responses »

  1. As’salaamu Alayki wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuhu

    Subhanallah ukhti, your life sounds like mine right now, lol. I had a place and the owner did the exact same to me, so we too our homeschooling out of a box, mashallah. Alahamdulilah, you found a better home. Allah subhan wa ta’alla is surely the best of planners. Allah subhana wa ta’alla knows and we do not know.

  2. Assalamu alaykum my dear sister
    I’m so happy that your move has worked out well, Alhumdulilah.
    What amazingly beautiful pictures, Subhanallah. We don’t see much like that here!
    I read the post from Muslimmotherhood – so beautiful, Mash’Allah, and very moving. May Allah s reward the sister and I pray that He is merciful with us all, ameen.

Leave a Reply

