New House – New HE System

Standard

Alhamdulillah, we moved into our new home just over a week ago. It is always a little strange being in a new place. It doesn’t feel like home yet, but I’m sure it will come inshaAllah.

Anyway, I’m not the type of person who can sit and live with boxes for months on end. Whenever we move, we literally work day and night until everything is unpacked. Alhamdulillah, everything has been done – just a little painting to do here and there. The kids love their new home. I hope we have many happy memories here inshaAllah.

I have been working on how our HE will be set up in our new house. Made a reading corner for R. It includes a large ‘puff puff’ (cushion/chair); it is near her books, and I printed this from sparklebox.co.uk, laminated it and stuck it up on the wall. Now, when she reads she doesn’t need to ask me how to read certain words. She looks at the letters and sounds chart and attempts it herself. I cannot tell you how much this has helped her with her reading.

DSC00791

She spent most of all day working on this. I was quite surprised that she made it all on her own. She followed the instructions in the booklet, made it, then her baby brother got hold of it….there were loads of tears and I begged my husband to put it back together. She was so happy when she woke up the following morning.

DSC00792

And finally, I am so excited about this!!! This will be our new way of organising our HE days! It is a system devised by Sue Patrick and it is called the Work Box System. More can be read here.

Firstly, let me show you a picture of the workboxes I made a couple of days ago:

Workboxes

So, here is what I did:

Sue Patrick advises that you buy transparent boxes but at £2.99/£3.99 each and you need to buy 12, I just thought ‘forget that’ and instead bought them for 99p each at the 99p store.

I then came home and printed out the numbers and signs which you can find here.

Cut them all up, laminated them all and cut them all up again. A bit tedious, but worth it.

Then velcroed the back of each piece and put the other side of the velcro on the boxes in two places. The number was placed in the middle of the side of the box. And another velcro was placed on the bottom right hand corner for a ‘Work with Mum sign’ (see the above links).

So, how does it work? You can read more about it here:

But to briefly explain, this is what happens.

1. Depending on your curriculum, requirements of each child, you would prepare the boxes the night before the ‘school day’. What is great about this new method is that the child doesn’t just do ‘written work’ but you can use all the fun stuff you at home which are normally left in cupboards etc. What is also great about this, is when preparing the workboxes, you can take into consideration what the child liked/didn’t like, found difficult/found easy and fill your boxes accordingly.

For children that don’t like maths, maths could go into box 4 and then they could see a really fun activity in box 6, so it will make them motivated to complete box 4.

2. When the child wakes up, they go to their schedule strip. The schedule strip includes the order each box should be completed in as well as break cards, library card visits, lunch break, exercise etc. They then begin their day and take the first box.

I made our own schedule strip with the laminator, velcro patches etc but my phone isn’t working for me to take a picture of it. Example of a schedule strip which can be found here.

3. A great thing about these workboxes is that it encourages independent work. When you prepare the workboxes, you decide which boxes will have a ‘work with mum’ card on them. When the child takes a box, if it doesn’t have a ‘work with mum’ card, then they have to work on it independently. It it does, then the child works with you. Again, it is your decision.

4. The child feels a sense of satisfaction upon completing all the workboxes and has fun doing so.

I have personally found that our HE recently has not involved as much ‘fun’ activities. This way, I can include these in some of the workboxes and allow to basically ‘get on with it’.

What I really love about this system, is that it will allow me to spend time with her brother inshaAllah. I have been feeling very guilty about the way in which I have neglected her brother. When R was his age, we did so much together and I just don’t have the time for him. So, this way, whilst she is working on her boxes without the ‘work with mum’ card, I can read and play with her brother inshaAllah. I only have four months left til the next baby is born, so I want to use this to spend as much time with him as possible. He is still my baby even though he is now 19 months old mashaAllah.

So, that is it. Anyone has any questions, I will try my best to answer them for you. A special jzk to Umm T for reviving the thread on the forum. I had completely forgot about it and this system seems to suit us just right! 🙂 Alhamdulillah.

 

8 responses »

  1. Assalamualaikum Sis,
    Thanks for the info on workbox system, I went to the website, it is great if only I can afford it..lol I’m thinking of getting the Ebook but is it really worthed? we have to watch our spending around here…ANd how big of a space is needed really? I see big rooms on the pics (of the web) whereas wour lives revolved around our kitchen table…lol
    Wasalam,
    D

  2. assalamu alaikum
    jazak allah khei for your informations,i really love your blog and look forward to your posting.iam learning a lot from you sister so keep the posting whenever you can inshaallah.
    jazak allah kheir
    assalamu alaikum

  3. asa,umm R I have been thinking of homeschooling but am concerned about the need for meeting others. You mention meeting up with other homeschooling ummi’s I was hoping if I could attend ia.

  4. As salaamu ‘alaikum wa RahmatULLAHI wa Barakatuhu Sis,

    JazakILLAH Khairin for the info – I am setting up our workboxes soon, InshaALLAH. It’s just a matter of getting organized, mostly the laminating and cutting, etc. I hope that it helps us get ourselves in a better position as far as getting around to the “fun” stuff.

    Take care,
    Wa salaam,
    Nakia

    • Ws wr wb

      MashaAllah, how are you sis? Feel honoured that you dropped by. Your blog is an inspiration mashaAllah. Look forward to reading your post about your workboxes.
      Wsm

Leave a Reply

