Little Update

Standard

HE is going well, alhamdulillah.

Every week we visit the library and return 15 books and R insists in using her quota of 15 books and takes out that very amount. Its seems as though we are  becoming known to the librarians. Even the grumpy old librarian is sort of ‘smiling’ a little when he sees us come in as R always talks to him about why she has chosen the books she has chosen as he stamps them out!

Yesterday, I chose two audio books for R:

As soon as we got home, she sat there and listened to both of them. We have the full reading set at home, but have only read one of the books as R is besotted with the ‘My Naughty Little Sister’ series. The audio was good and I heard her laughing away whilst I cooked. Has reminded me to let her listen to more audio books as it will improve her vocabulary.

Her reading is coming along nicely mashaAllah and I find that she is reading books whose pictures she only previously sat down to ‘look’ at. For ages, I have wondered when she would become a ‘reader’, i.e. when she would actually pick up a book and take pleasure in reading it, not because I asked her, but because she wanted to. She is doing a lot more of that now mashaAllah. So, I think the transition is taking place.

Yesterday, she had her first Arabic lesson with her new tutor. It went quite well, but we’ll see what happens with future lessons inshaAllah.

Monday, we did Math and a question came up regarding how many marbles are there than bows. Such a simple concept, but R just couldn’t get it. It was very frustrating. I feel that it was because we did Math in the afternoon. But later felt okay that this is quite a difficult concept to grasp at first as other sisters advised me on the IHSAN Forum. Anyway, I left it on Tuesday and we revisited it today. I took the advice of ummrashid and used smaller items above one another to show the difference. She also advised me to just leave it and revisit it at a later time. And R got it straight away! MashaAllah. I was so pleased. I am very pleased with the MEP for R. I think it suits her well and I do believe it is very well laid out – revisiting concepts at different times – allowing the children to absorb new math. We are currently on lesson 14 and I can see us sticking with this for some time to come inshaAllah.

Aside from that, I have been getting resources together for a new science topic we will be starting shortly. A little more on that another time inshaAllah. Am quite excited about it, as it uses reading and comprehension as the basis for the actual science study.

4 responses »

  1. Assalamu ‘alaykum ukhti,

    Talking about library visits, it reminded me when we went on the weekend, We almost always take out the full limit of books on each card, which is 8 on each, so I use a couple of those big re-usable bags all the supermarket’s sell, well, as I was taking out the books to check them back in, the lady laughed and said it was like a botomless pit, lol, I think she was wondering when was gonna be the last one 🙂

    It’s funny b’cos we’re normally there with piles of books, and everyone else seems to have either 1 or just a couple in their hands, I guess you can always spot the homeschooler! 🙂

    I’m still waiting for my daughter who’s 6 to dive into the books, her reading is coming along well also masha’Allaah, but she doesn’t seem to have the enthusiasm to go pick up a book for herself, although she loves being read to, I hope it will start for her soon insha Allaah.

    Enjoying your updates sis 🙂

  2. Assalamou alaikoum,

    I hope you remember me ukhti. You’re such an inspiration mashaAllah, may Allah protect and preserve you and your children…

    Lots of love

    umm Hammam

    • Ws wr wb

      Sis, how could I ever forget you. You showed me such hospitality and support when we made hijrah to Algeria. I am not the inspiration sis. You are, mashaAllah. May Allah grant you jannah al firdous. Are you still in Algiers? I’d love to visit you once we next return inshaAllah.

      Wsm.

Leave a Reply

