Last Week

Standard

Last week was quite a busy week for us. On Tuesday, we attended an Arts and Crafts day organised by a dawah organisation I used to work with. It was so nice seeing all the sisters again. I really do miss them. But I guess when you move to a different area, you tend to lose contact with those that you saw regularly. Life goes on eh?

Anyway, R and Z had a wonderful time. There were so many different activities to do mashaAllah and all the proceeds were going towards the organisation. R made some candles, did some glass painting, made a ‘scratch’ mask, had her face painted, bounced on the bouncy castle and generally had fun seeing old friends mashaAllah.

A couple of days later, we were invited by a sister to  join a small group of sisters at our local museum and the weather was just superb mashaAllah. The company was really nice mashaAllah and we had a lovely picnic ‘ Bengali’ style! lol We visited the aquarium in the museum. The children climbed trees and became quite muddy!! But it was just really nice seeing them be children. For those who know me, I am very much the ‘observer’ lol. And our conversations led me to think a lot about where my life is going from here in terms of home ed. I have a very active toddler and a newborn to tend to and as I’ve said previously, things will not be the same. But I’m trying my very hardest to accept that and adjust inshaAllah. I’ve had so many ups and downs over the last year or so. I am very much pro home ed, but there have been many times where I feel like giving up, not because I do n ot believe it is the best thing for my kids. But I wonder if I can ever continue with it and I really do want to give my children the best and sometimes I don’t know if if I can give my best through home ed. The day we went to the museum was one of those days. Although it was a lovely day, I came home and wondered whether this is indeed the best path for my children…

 Here are some pics:

We are still not back to our usual routine. At the moment I am trying to figure out what to do and how to do it! I have been doing a lot of organising though. A sister came to visit us and the new baby and she commented on something she heard a sheikh say. He said something along the lines of, ‘ The home environment of a child should be one in which he/she can explore and learn.’ Such a simple statement, but it really made me think about how I provide those opportunities for my kids. Most of R’s learning resources have been in cupboards. So, instead I took them all out and placed them in containers (separated by subject) and they are laid out on the floor. Everything can be seen and nothing is put away in a cupboard but instead just placed back into the box when she has finished using it.

 There were so many resources that she hasn’t used because they are stored away in boxes and do not see the light of day. Since doing this, R has been using the resources more and actually uses them as aids when she wants to do something. I find that by doing this, she is initiating her own learning more.  

 This week she received mail from her two penpals! She couldn’t believe it when she received one at the beginning of the week and then another at the end of the week. She immediately took pen to paper. I let her write her letters to her penpals on her own first and then we go over any spelling mistakes and she writes it out again. Is this a good method or not?

We’ve also kept up with Quran – mainly revision. She has started back at her Quran classes and was very happy that she was one of only three students who got a lollipop for their good work and behaviour mashaAllah.

Finally, yesterday we attended the Family Fun Day and Souk at Regents Park mosque. It was packed! But again, perfect weather mashaAllah. It was nice seeing old faces again and the kids had a lovely day running around. We came home with some books in Arabic about the Prophets and Islamic manners. They were on a special deal and my husband said that the Stories of the Prophets books were a good find because most childrens books about the prophets are very basic in detail. But these went into more detail and still enjoyable for the children to read/hear. Here are some pics in case you want to look them up:

 

 A sister who I’ve only ‘met’ online had her stall there. She runs a company selling educational Islamic toys/stationery. When I saw her table, I immediately went over and introduced myself and it was nice putting an ‘online name’ to a face. I couldn’t believe it when the sister started filling bags with items from her stall. She gave me a whole bag load of items free for me to review! I was very grateful and quite excited about all these goodies. My next post will be a review of these items. She really has made some wonderful products mashaAllah of a very high quality. In the meantime, check out her website http://www.smartark.com/  and watch this space!

Finally, I have spent these last few weeks contemplating a lot about my parenting skills. There are so many things I am doing wrong and I’m really trying my very best to become a better mother. A very dear and kind sister came across this site and wallahi it has helped me so much. Check it out! http://www.screamfreemuslims.com/

2 responses »

  1. As salaamu ‘alaikum Sister!

    It looks like you’re having all the fun over there, lol.

    When we send letters, I do the same thing (rewrite to make it tidy).

    Scream Free Muslims sounds like a place I need to visit as well. JazakILLAH Khairin for the link. My kids’ ears will thank you, InshaALLAH.;)

    Take care
    wa salaam,
    Nakia

    • Ws wr wb

      How are you sis? Lol! Read her posts – seriously makes you think and think and think and think! And then cry when you watch your kiddies sleeping! lol

Leave a Reply

