Live Caterpillars and Chocolate Baking

Standard

R loves cooking. She often asks me if she can help me cook dinner in the kitchen. And I never let her with the exception of sometimes allowing her to peel garlic cloves! I haven’t and don’t do enough cooking activities with her. My cakes are always a flop – lol! So, I let her do this all by herself. She felt quite proud and couldn’t wait to…lick the bowl!

This is what you need.

Easy peasy. Melt the chocolate. Add a couple of spoons of golden syrup and melted butter. Mix all together. Throw in the cornflakes. Mix all together. Spoon into papercups and into the fridge til hardened. And thats it. An easy cooking activity that kids can completely do on their own!

R is still working on addition in math. Instead of doing some of her workbook practice. She did a colour by addition page. She really enjoyed this. And asked me for some more.

And guess what came through the post today…. (!) She couldn’t believe her eyes!

Don't know if you can see them because they are very very tiny at the moment. But those little black lines are live caterpillars. There are five in there feeding away!

Once the caterpillars become chrysalides, we move them to the net that came with the caterpillars and watch them hatch into butterflies. R is soooooo excited. She immediately got out her USBORNE Butterflies book to read about how long it will take.

We’ve been taking it easy as I am in my final week of my assignment for this year. It has to be posted by Monday! On another note, I’m thinking of choices of resources, curricula for next year. We’ll be starting the next year of Home Ed after Ramadan inshaAllah and I really want to sort out all the planning for it before Ramadan – which leaves me roughly 2 months!  I don’t want to spend Ramadan planning for home ed. I can’t believe Ramadan is around the corner… AGAIN!

Also, now that R is reading, reading and just doesn’t stop READING mashaAllah, I am thinking of updating our bookshelves. I want to look more into some Charlotte Mason living books. Anyone have any suggestions?

Just to end, something that has really worked for us this week is moving read alouds and Quran to straight after breakfast. I got this idea from Umm Rashid mashaAllah. Every day straight after finishing our cereal, I read to Z first and then to R. We then do our Quran at the table before anything else. This has gone down really well. It has become a habit here that I hope to keep up. I think its nice when home ed has an organic feel rather than a ‘okay-its-time-to-sit-at-your-desk-and-start-school’ feel. Something simple like this has made read alouds and Quran much more enjoyable for everyone. Alhamdulillah.

14 responses »

  1. Asalaamu alaykum sis,

    Masha’Allah that all sounds great. F is always asking me if she could help in the kitchen, and for some reason I never seem to have enough time. I think I’ll surprise her this week with your tip Insha’Allah. I already know she’ll love it- arent girls so lovely at this age? 🙂 Masha’Allah.

    Umm Fatimah

    • Ws wr wb

      I think I am going to have to do some more baking with her inshaAllah. Its good prep for the future too inshaAllah.

  2. Assalamualaykum,
    Coconut ice is another non-heating cooking activity, bit sickly for me but good if you like coconut.

  3. As Salaamu Alaykum, Subhan Allah! I am so happy to see other home edders teaching their children about the butterfly lifecycle masha Allah. Ours have finally hatched butterflies,but we still have 5 more to hatch! It’s so amazing to see Allah’s creation in such early stages of life,Alhamdulilah! Allahu Akbar!

    • Ws wr wb

      Jzk sis. Came across your blog post first, then ummrashid’s, then nakia and then ummsalams! lol It seems that most of us are waiting eagerly!

  4. Wa alaikum as salaam,

    We also did the watch the caterpillars turn into butterflies some years ago. It’s funny b/c even though we have been there and done that, the little ones either weren’t around or were too young to benefit, so that means we get to do it again, insha Allah.

  5. MashAllah, you’re once again keeping up a good job home edding ur children, may Allah reward you abundantly, ameen.
    Kids in the kitchen is messy but great for them and good company. My son has joined me there since he was quite small but very much less since I had my daughter.
    The science activity with the caterpillars is great too.
    From where do you order this kit?
    JazakAllah for letting me know.
    All the best to you all sisters, fi amanillah.
    Ma’salaama

  6. as salamualykum baking bread is a really nice activity to do with children. all that kneading can be done by even the younger children. then they can shape the rolls and put sesamse/ poppy seeds on them or leave them plain. then leave it to rise and finally bake it and eat it. nice masha’Allaah

      • aslm.you have to stop being negative about your baking abilities or it will rub off onto the kids.

      • Ws

        I doubt very much that it will rub off on my kids. My daughter loves baking too much!!!!!!! MashaAllah

Leave a Reply

