When they take their own lead..

Standard

So, a lot of our home ed has been formal since R was 3 years old. I do believe in having structure and I have certain standards for her. But what I ABSOLUTELY LOVE about home ed is seeing her take her own lead according to her own interests.

As a result of the growing live caterpillars (they grow so fast and so quickly subhanaAllah!) she has been taking her own lead and I have scrapped the formal stuff today and am enjoying watching her learn.

Yesterday, whilst I was on the phone with a sister discussing home ed, she made this all on her own:

She drew the life stages of a butterfly all on her own from memory, cut out the pieces and then stuck them in order.

I have found her reading this book again and again and again. I asked her which book she would like to read to me today, and she chose…yup…you guessed it! The same book!

These Usborne Beginner books are really great! They have all sorts of different topics.

 

And finally, I caught her doing this:

That is a helicopter on the left and she is again drawing the life cycle stages of a butterfly. This time on card. And I see lots of glue and sellotape on the table. Asked her what she was doing and she told me that she is going to enact (didn’t use that word of course) the life cycle with the pieces she is making.

Wallahi, when I see my daughter take her own learning lead, it gives me greater pleasure than getting all questions right on a worksheet. This to me is what home ed is all about. Alhamdulillah.

4 responses »

  1. As Salaamu Alaykum,
    Awwww, masha Allah! What a sweetie pie! I love how she took it upon herself to draw out the stages!Alhamdulilah!

Leave a Reply

