Reading Balance

Standard

I have a bit of a dilemma. We have different subjects to get through in our HE day. But we don’t seem to be getting much of that done because R wants to read all the time. Now, I am happy that her reading has taken off and it gives me great pleasure to see her enjoy reading so much mashaAllah. However, it means that we’re not getting other subjects done. When this reading marathon started a few weeks ago,Β I was over the moon. We have a lot of sets of books at home and she doesn’t take one book from the set to read, but has to take the whole set off the bookshelf and then reads one be one. You can imagine how much time that takes. Like I said, I was happy initially and decided to give her that time to enjoy reading. But now, I’m wondering if I should put a limit on the number of books she reads because we are not getting to do subjects like math etc. I don’t feel right telling her that that is enough reading as I know she is learning especially when she picks up non-fiction sets, but then is a good HE day one where Quran and reading is all that has been achieved? It looks like she’s taking after me. I was a bookworm when I was younger. But then other things need to be learnt to? But I don’t want to discourage her by putting a limit. I do say to her you can read later, but then she says to me “Oh please Ummi, just one more!” Which then turns into another 5 more!

12 responses »

  1. Assalamualaykum,
    I’d leave her to it for now!
    See how it goes, inshAllah. She is reading intensely now,but she may not keep that up long term. If you get to September and it is still like this then you would need to start getting back to the maths and writing, but I think she may feel the need to balance things out more herself before then.
    Having two younger children and with Ramadan coming this reading interest is a blessing. It can really help you solve your time allocation dilemas, inshAllah. And, what is more, the more she reads the better she should be able to write, without much extra input from you, inshAllah.

    • Ws wr wb

      You are so right. SubhanAllah, I think I will be relieved during Ramadan knowing that she is preoccupying herself with reading!

  2. As salaamu alaykum,

    Naam, I think I would agree with what the sisters said. I totally know how you feel that it is not enough, but most likely, Allahu ilm, as the sisters said, they usually go through phases like this with so many different things. I am trying to learn to ride them out and see that there is learning in just about everything. If she likes to read, asking her to narrate what she read (ala Charlotte Mason) is a good way to perhaps satisfy your fears that it is not enough.

    I am really starting to see that though we don’t always get in everything that was scheduled, it can still be a successful homeschooling day. I am of the mindset that even if they just learned one new thing each day, well that is a success, as opposed to the alternative.

    Just look for those teachable moments from anything and everything throughout your day, that helps me when I feel down that we haven’t done everything we “should” have.

  3. As salaamu ‘alaikum.

    Don’t sweat it, Sis. M was the same way and I worried that we would never get back to the other subjects.

    Eventually, she naturally balanced her reading time and we were able to push forward.

    Take care,
    wa salaam,
    Nakia

  4. Assalamo alaikum,

    CONGRATULATIONS! MashaAllah your dd is on her way to educating herself! What an achievement! I’d echo the above comments, your dd is ahead on other areas so use this time wisely for yourself for planning/resting etc.

    Remember that reading covers many topics such as spelling, grammar, science/history (if it’s non-fiction) so make sure you tick those of on the daily schedule inshaAllah.

    This new step is obviously so exciting for her, make the most of her enthusiasm and long may it last inshaAllah.

    xxx

    • Ws wr wb,

      Awww..my dear umm salam. Jzk sis πŸ™‚ Sometimes I forget how much she can actually learn from just reading.

  5. Assalaamu alaikum sis

    As the others have said I would ride it out and you will probably find she will find her own balance…I have one son who’s 11 and does most of his learning by reading. I do have a panic about it at times but it is the way he learns (but definitely not mine, that’s where the stress comes in lol!). When my 2nd child went through this stage I purchased some of the relevant ‘Mathstart’ books from Collins..so he read and still learned maths and actually a lot of other stuff came off of it. You can check them out on http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/?ie=UTF8&keywords=mathstart&tag=googhydr-21&index=stripbooks&hvadid=4704715719&ref=pd_sl_fx4zc98l3_b

    Fi amanillah xXx

    • Ws wr wb

      How are you sis? Long time! πŸ™‚
      Yes, we have two of those that a sister gave to us. They’re quite good aren’t they? Have to dig them out again.

Leave a Reply

