Ramadan

Standard

Alhamdulillah, Ramadan is finally here! The weather has been quite cool mashaAllah – quite a lot of rain actually. I do feel for those who are fasting in the heat.

I thought it might be difficult to fast this year as I am breastfeeding baby Y. But alhamdulillah it hasn’t been as difficult as I thought it would be. I just get thirsty and tired but apart from that I’m okay alhamdulillah.

In terms of home ed, R made a Ramadan calendar (jzk ummrashid, I completely forgot to let her do one until I read your blog). R is moving on with her memorisation mashaAllah. She just completed a new long surah in juz tabarak mashaAllah which she is really happy about. And we do our normal revision. MashaAllah, she has fasted the whole day today. I didn’t think she could do it but actually she seemed to complain more last year when she fasted her very first fast than this year even though this year is much longer. She says she wants to fast the whole month but I don’t think I’ll let her. Maybe a few days here and there inshaAllah. How do you deal with young children and fasting? Do you let them fast the whole month? We are also reading quite a few Islamic books and discussing the lessons within them.

After iftar, I am enjoying a wonderful series on www.huda.tv called ‘One Step Closer’. Its about practical steps we can take to move closer to Allah (Swt). I love huda during Ramadan. If you can, check it out – they have some amazing lectures on there. And unlike Islam Channel, there are no women without hijab and no music! Alhamdulillah.

And thats about it. I’m really enjoying this Ramadan so far alhamdulillah. It really brings me back to why I became a Muslim – that there is a Creator and that we have been made to serve and please Him. Alhamdulillah for being a Muslim.

6 responses »

  1. As salaamu ‘alaikum Sis. Ramadan Mubarak!

    I haven’t let M fast yet – but we might try it this Ramadan….

    MashaALLAH R is really pushing forward with her memorization. We’re still doing Suratul Fajr but making excellent progress, AlhamduLILLAH.

    Take care,
    Ramadan Kareem,
    Nakia

    • Ws wr wb

      How are you dear sis? Ramadan Kareem to you too. Alhamdulillah, I find that a little bit of hifdh a day goes a long way inshaAllah.

  2. Asalaamu alaykum sis,

    Masha’Allah- May Allah bless R with the light of the Quran Ameen.

    I’m fasting this Ramadan and BF also, I thought it might be difficult with regard to milk supply its my first time, we will see Insha’Allah. If theres any advice that you can give me on this front, Insha’Allah Kair.

    I wouldn’t let her fast for the whole month just yet, not only is she young, but the days would be too long for her also, perhaps the winter might have been easier.

    However, I wouldn’t discourage her iether since she wants to take part which is v.good Alhamdulilah. Perhaps you can negotiate a number of days in the week, and the rest of the days she can take part in other things that would be rewardful, this way she is learning more than restraining from food.

    Perhaps setting up a weekly target sheet with all the things she needs to complete for her ebaadah. This would be very good practice, Insha’Allah. Hmm I think I’m gonna do this with F acc, sounds good 🙂

    I wish you the best of Ramadan, May Allah make it easy for you sis. Ameen

    • Ws wr wb

      Ameen to your duas sis! I think what helps me keep the milk supply is drinking loads at iftar and drinking loads at suhr and at night when baby Y wakes up. Also, I tend to eat more than I normally do at suhr and at iftar. I’m also taking vitamins at suhr time. Hope this helps inshaAllah.

  3. Asalaamu ‘alaikum

    um this the first time i am posting on this site… i am from south africa.. i hope everyone has a spritual ramadhaan.. do rem me in ur duas.. Btw i hav a 10 month old boy..muhammad azhar

Leave a Reply

