Family

Standard

When I became a Muslim eleven years ago, my family fell apart. My father stopped talking to me. Mum didn’t want to have anything to do with me and basically told me where to go and my brother and I were never close. When I was pregnant with R, I was over the moon – my first child. And I thought that my family would get over the fact that I was now a Muslim. My mother and father did come and see their first grandchild after many years of not being in touch with me. Since then, it has been very up and down with my mother. Some times we have been fine, and other times months and years have gone by without talking. My father still doesn’t want to have anything to do with me even though I have tried. And my brother also was the same – that was until last Wednesday!

After many years my little brother who is not so little – he’s actually 6 foot 2 and now 24 years old! (I still see him as a 13 year old) came to visit us after years of being apart. It was such a lovely day mashaAllah and I can’t tell you the difference it has made in how I just generally feel. I have some wonderful sisters who have become like family to me, but there really is something about the ties of kinship.

SubhanAllah, it really was great to be in touch again and for the kids to begin to know their uncle. He took R ice-skating on Saturday and she had a fantastic time. It was her first time and mashaAllah she skated in the middle of the ice rink all on her own.

Why am I telling you all of this? Because seriously, the power of dua is truly AMAZING. I made so much dua about my family – for them to become Muslim and to accept me in their lives again. My Mum and I are now on good terms after many ups and downs and now my brother is in my life again. My Dad still doesn’t want to have anything to do with me, but I have hope inshaAllah. I’ve realise we should never underestimate the power of dua – it truly is the weapon of the believer.

9 responses »

  1. Alhamdulillah! That’s so great. I’m so happy for you that your relationships are getting better, may Allah guide your family and my family to Islam, ameen.

    My family did get over their distance after I gave birth to their first grandchild, alhamdulillah. I do know how important it is to keep ties of kinship, I’m so thankful to Allah that I can still have a good relationship with my mom especially after having children.

  2. Mash Allah sister that is lovely news. My father brought us up alone as my mum left us when I was seven years old. Alhamdulliah I have a sister and brother who live with my dad in northern ireland and Alhamdulliah I speak with them everyday and my sister and brother do visit sometimes.My girls love their uncle and it is lovely for R,Z and Y to get to know theres they are still young so Alhamdulliah he came into your life before they are big.

  3. MashAllah!! My heart and my duas are with you and your family. I too have experienced exactly what you speak of here. Dua is our answer to all matters in our lives. Allah (swt) sees and know everything. I had to really work hard through the trials of my family and I had to always keep in mind that even if one of my kin continued to reject me that as a muslim I was responsible in keeping ties with that family member in the best way that I could. My father was the exact same way–he wanted nothing to do with me–so I sent him cards that simply reminded him that no matter what the circumstance, no matter his feelings toward me that he was still my father and I will always love him. MashAllah today my entire family and I are all together lovingly once again. I pray that Allah(swt) make this trial easy on you and may he bless and reward you for your strength, courage, devotion, and worship in him. AMeen

  4. May Allah guide them to Islam and bring all of you together again inshaAllah. so lovely to hear as family is so important and we should never underestimate their value. May Allah make things easy for you (remember with every hardship comes ease).

    x

  5. Assalamu alaykum

    Jazakallah khair for your blog – a friend mentioned it to me and i have been doing nothing but reading it for the past week whenever i get the time!! I came across a previous post where you had listed the goals you wanted for your daughter by the time she reached 5 years. It had things like ‘know number 1-100 from memory, be able to write alphabet, both lower and upper case from memory’, memorize juz amma’. i though it was fantastic and as mine is also about that age and i wanted to look at your objectives again, but the annoying thing is i cant find your post!!!! i have searched and searched but cant seem to find it – please please can you tell me where i can find it on your blog, coz it is driving me crazy!! jazakallah khair and keep up your inspirational work.

Leave a Reply

