Review and Writing

Standard

When I said R hated the workbooks, I haven’t gone back to them at all. And so I am trying to find alternative ways for her to work on her writing but in a fun way. She still emails her friends mashaAllah which is good but I really want her to learn her grammar, spelling etc through writing and just writing freely. We have done a lot of creative writing. But I’m trying to include different forms.

A few mornings ago, R started reading one of these magazines:

It is an old issue mashaAllah but she really got into it. What I liked about it was that it is sooo child friendly, colourful, fun and the children really do learn about their deen. R learnt about the 3 types of hajj and we talked at length about Zamzam. Within this particular issue was an activity which encouraged the children to write a newspaper report! When I saw this, I thought brilliant mashaAllah – just what I need! She didn’t feel like doing it as she wanted to carry on reading it but its definitely something I’ll keep inshaAllah for later. Whilst she was reading, I thought it would be great for her to write a review. After she finished, she wrote a review about the magazine for the aunties who read this blog. I corrected the piece for spelling mistakes and grammar. She then spent some time doing some ICT and typed up her report.

Here is what she said:

“Assalamu Alaykum aunties. I am writing about a magazine. It is called Little Explorers all about Hajj. I liked reading about Zamzam. I learnt that Zamzam is the best water in the world. There was nothing I didn’t like. I think other children would like it. I also liked the activities.”

The review is very simple 🙂 But I’m trying to bring in writing for different purposes and so I hope to expand on review writing the next time she does a review inshaAllah.

Anyway, back to the actual magazine. I would really recommend buying a subscription of Little Explorers. The excitement of receiving their own copy of a magazine addressed to them is priceless. And the magazine itself is top quality, no faces, full of colour, great activities and very engaging. What was nice for me to see was a good balance of easy to read language but also challenging words at the same time, an educational type activity linked to what they had read, something fun and she really enjoyed the comic strip at the end mashaAllah.

10/10 for us alhamdulillah! Visit http://www.littleexplorersmagazine.co.uk/ today and invest in a subscription for your kiddos!

Leave a Reply

