All About Z (and his first lapbook!)

Standard

My middle man is 3 years old and almost 9 months mashaAllah! I cannot believe in a few months time he’ll be 4 inshaAllah. Who remembers when he was born?! I wonder if there are any readers out there who have been following the blog since then. 🙂

Z is my child who is different to the other two. He is my test. He is my child who shows me the most affection mashaAllah. He is who he is. Home Ed is definitely going to be different with him. He doesn’t learn like his sister does and his strong character is going to mean that I am going to have to do things differently with him.

Z, like most boys his age loves trains, cars and is mad about fire engines and firemen! So, my house at the moment revolves around HORSES and FIRE ENGINES and in Y’s case – really smelly nappies – I need to start potty training that one!

In the last few weeks, Z has noticed WORDS everywhere. He asks me to read slogans, supermarket labels – everything. I remember when R did this. I take it as a sign that he might be ready to learn some phonics and begin reading. I’m not going to push it though as he is very very very young. I’m going to do it in a really fun and easy way inshaAllah and see how it goes. I read to my kids A LOT and I believe this is something to continue which can hopefully aid their own reading.

Z very proudly made his first lapbook before we went away. He finished all the mini books but we only put it together recently and he is very very happy with his first book!

Here are a few pics of activities I have been doing with Z including his lapbook:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

14 responses »

  1. Assalamu alaykum warahmatullahi wabarakatu Sis,

    I hear you loud and clear – my first is 5 and MashaAllah TabarakAllah is hungry for learning. My second, is 3 (and 2 months) and he is totally different in his learning that has me scratching my head a whole heap! May Allah swt make teaching your childdren easy upon you and May He open their hearts and minds to learning and seeking knowledge now and into the future as adults only for His sake, ameen.

    Look forward to reading more of your posts InshaAllah.

    take care
    wassalam alaykum
    sohret

    PS- do you have a link for the lapbook materials you used? Jazak Allahu Khaira

  2. As salaamu alaiki ukhti,

    Maasha’allaah it looks lovely. Well Done Z! Sis, I think its so nice when each child develops their own unique personality i’m really weird like that I love differences that’s why I wanted to Home ed because I want my children to be individuals and not clones. That fact that he loves cars, trains etc is all from him he didn’t pick that up from ‘lil’Johnny’ at nursery his character, personality its all him and I think that’s amazing.

    Well…., that fact he is a different learner to his sister is maasha’allaah a challenge because it means leaving your comfort zone and experimenting but maasha’allaah it means more experience gained for yourself.

    Um Umayyah.x

  3. Salam alikoum sis,
    MASHA’ALLAH…I don’t know why, but I sometimes get a bit emotional when reading your posts… maybe coz it’s so special to see how they’re progressing & I miss you all!!! Maybe coz I’m one of the sisters who’s been following you since before Z was born. Alhamdulillah, you’re doing a fantastic job. Masha’Allah. May Allah give you all the strength, wisdom & patience you need to continue in such a way. AMEEN!
    Dina
    xxx

    • Ws, Aww jzk for your comment. Lol, do you remember when you looked after R when I was in prelabour and she discovered what lipstick was! SubhanAllah, feels like ages ago. Ameen to your duas Dina xx

Leave a Reply

