Self Led Horse Project

Standard

Just under 2 weeks ago, I blogged about R and the discussion we had about a possible Horse Project. I asked a few ‘facilitating’ questions and since then she has been working every day to complete her book (asking me each day if this could stand as her formal English work which I agreed to).

Today at short notice, my brother came over to visit us and she worked hard in the morning to try and finish it so that she could present her finished book. And she did. Everything in this project book was self led and I only helped when she wanted me to help her spell a word or to print a picture from google images. Everything else was her own work. It was very interesting seeing her so engaged in this project – all self led. These two weeks are weeks I will treasure as I began to see my first born fall in love with learning and putting together something of her own that she initiated herself mashaAllah – it is one of the reasons I decide to home ed and it definitely is worth all the difficult home edding days when I want to pull my hair out! 

During these last two weeks, she has read A LOT from a variety of books about Horses (some that she took out from the library and others we have at home), she has written a lot on her own (not copywork) and she has thought about spellings, punctuation and grammar. So, I guess there has been a lot of English lessons throughout the work on this project.

There are spelling and grammatical mistakes in her Horse Project Book but I deliberately did not point them out or make her correct them. I left her alone and she only let me read the finished product today. I felt it was more important to let the project flow instead of constantly correcting every mistake. The fact that all of the writing was her own wording and way of describing/stating things has allowed me to honestly see what areas of spelling and punctuation I need to work on with her.

Here is the finished result by R (age 7):

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

14 responses »

  1. Assalaamu alaikum sis,
    Allaahu baarik lahaa. Wonderful. I can imagine the feeling sis. It is indeed one of those moments, subhanallaah. The book is lovely. Well done R! We are so proud of you. I too have a similar thing happening at home these days, will share after completion insha Allaah. I know what you mean by letting it flow and avoid correcting at that time. It really does halt the project.

  2. Assalamu alaykum warahmatullahi wabarakatu Sis

    MashaAllah TabarakAllah what an amazing project from your daughter. May Allah swt increase her love of learning and give you many more sweet successes in your home ed experience, ameen.

    I look forward to experiencing these moments with my kids InshaAllah.

    wassalam alaykum
    sohret

  3. Asalaamu alaikum ukhti!

    MashAllah a lovely project and very inspiring alhamdulillah! May Allah increase R’s love of learning!
    I’ll be showing this project to y 5 year old who is also mad about horses….prehaps she will be inspired inshallah!
    JazakAllah khayr for sharing sis.

    Asalaamu alaikum
    Umm Khadeeja
    x

  4. MashaAllah sis what a beautiful project and well done to you too – it takes a lot of effort on the parents part to get a child to this point. I think yo uare both amazing mashaAllah. I pray that Allah ta’aala continues to bless your HE with all that is good ameen.

    Wassalaam xXx

    • Always nice to receive comments from old school veterans like you mashaAllah. 🙂 Jzk for your kind comment and ameen to your duas sis. x

Leave a Reply

