Deliberate Reshuffle

Standard

Today, I had coffee with two local sisters. I rarely get the chance to just relax. If I am out then it is normally to do something important for the kids or a project. This was a real treat for me. One of the sisters there was home educating but no longer does. Her son started school in the last academic year and her daughter who is just a little younger than R started school for the first time in September. Her children are absolutely loving it mashaAllah. And for a split second, I felt an urge to put them into school. But then I remembered R’s Horse Project book and all the plus points of home ed came flooding back.

I think what it reinforced for me was that home ed is a choice – it isn’t for everyone but it definitely is for some. I used to be such a radical homeschooler and would often say that I would never put my kids in school. The fact is, at this moment in my life, I can’t and won’t say it. I take each month or year as it comes. Right now, alhamdulillah it is suiting us. But I don’t know how my children will change or my circumstances might change. Maybe one day school would suit them – who knows. At the end of the day, I need to do what I feel is right for my children and right now, I feel that home education is better for them in terms of their learning and life in general. I am really happy for the sister as I can see that it was the right choice for her and her children alhamdulillah.

Later on the afternoon, I did a deliberate reshuffle. I remember speaking to a sister at one of our trips about how she deliberately arranges her shelves so that her children are immersed with educational tools. I have noticed it definitely does work. Now that Y is that little bit older, I feel that things can come down a bit. Amazing how everything goes up when you have a crawling/walking baby around.

So today, I moved books around, put educational posters, resources, puzzles etc on shelves that my children can reach and see. The kids couldn’t wait to get stuck in. There were things I had that I had forgotten we owned because it was behind an object. Our interactive globe came back to life which kept Z busy for ages.. R did some learning roots puzzles and read the seerah trail. Y played with an abacus. Am quite happy with the change in our main living space.

I think their learning environment and how it is laid out is key for a home edder.

18 responses »

  1. Assalamu alaykum,

    Yes, arranging the space at home is so important. I recently rearranged both their rooms. Now they spend their day learning different things. Sometimes they learn together and sometimes everyone goes to their room to do something on their own.

    Having an easy access is very important.

    Sending the kids to school is not halal if the school is not run by Muslims. It isn’t halal to send a child to a place where they will be taught kufr. So it isn’t much of a choice to HE. If we lived in Darul Islam I would gladly send them to the mosque to learn their Arabic and Deen. Well in a muslim society we aren’t supposed to have schools really. Kids study in the mosque this which is fard for them to learn.

    • Jzk for your comment. Yes, it really does make a huge difference to their learning.

      With regards to your other points, there are differences of opinion especially living in the West and it isn’t as clear cut as ‘Muslim schools teach kufr and therefore haram’ (you actually find that a lot of state schools in East London have a strong PTA and the children and predominantly Muslim and so don’t teach ‘kufr’ but you are more than entitled to your own opinion.

      Also, I’ve never heard that when the Islamic ruling system is reestablished that there wouldn’t be schools. There were establishments of education in the times of the salaf which some of the most notable scholars taught in. For me, I’m not a scholar and cannot perform itjihad and so all I can say is Allahu Alam.

      Something I’ve been thinking a lot lately as I see a lot of people doing it. Quite dangerous to say things are haram or halal without knowledge. SubhanaAllah, the companions would be shy and worried to even answer the Prophets questions and wld reply with ‘Allah and His Messenger know best’. And yet we – the people of today who haven’t even memorised the Quran and who are not fluent in Arabic roll off fatwas like we are scholars. May Allah keep us all sincere. Ameen. Terrifies me what we will say when questioned by Allah about what we’ve said, written, typed.

      • Okay let me put it this way. If the teachers in a school teach the children kufr then it is not halal for the Muslims to send their children to study there given that they know kufr is taught. I think this statement is more precise inshaAllah.

        This is what I meant sister. I hope it is clear now inshaAllah. Jazak Allah khair for the reminder that we should be careful not to speak about the deen without knowledge.

      • Yes it was clear in the beginning and I would simply reiterate the points I made before. Waiyaki – the reminder was for me first and foremost. May Allah help and guide us all. Ameen.

  2. Asalaamu alaikum sis,

    Its funny you did a reshuffle, coz thats what i’ve done this week too! I realised alot of our “educational” resources (other than books) are away in my “school cupbord”, and this week I brought in one of the bookcases to allow the kids to have free reign on what they wanted to use…and for me t o keep out some resrouces we really should make more use of inshallah!

    JazakAllah khayr for sharing your thoughts sis, …I can see I am “normal” lol
    Asalaamu alaikum
    Umm Khadeeja x

  3. Assalamu alaikum warahmatullahi wabarakatuh,

    Wall bookcases (where the books face forward) are a really good way of using up wall space in the children’s bedroom. It also enables you to free up space in the bookcase where you do your home ed. I have found this really helped so I can keep some boxes of arts and craft materials, which for a long time were hidden upstairs until I had forgotten about them!

    Umm Yusuf

    • They are what we have and we use them for books, resources, arts and craft boxes – everything lol! Really useful and hold a lot of stuff alhamdulillah.

  4. Bismillah Ar- Rahman Ar-Raheem

    As’salaamu Alaykum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakaatuh.

    I am often a lurker. I read and that is about it, and don’t always have time to comment, but after reading some of the previous comments I felt the need to make the time to reply. Ukhti, I enjoy reading your blog, and I think you do a very good job with your children to the best of your ability, and may Allah subhanahu wa ta’ala reward you greatly for it, and continue to allow you to do so, Aameen.I love you for the sake of Allah subhanahu wa ta’ala.

    I once had my three older children in public ,and private schools, and I saw the ill affects upon them, subhanAllah. To my understanding, wa Allahu alim most of the scholars of Ahlul Hadith are in agreement that it is not permissible to place our children in schools run by the kufr, people of innovation, or schools where free missing takes place.

    Here are a few links to Fatawa from the scholars, regarding placing children in schools of kufr, as well as schools where there is free mixing, which I believe Umm Zaynab was referring to, wa Allahu alim.

    http://www.bakkah.net/interactive/q&a/aamb010.htm

    http://www.salafitalk.net/st/viewmessages.cfm?Forum=6&Topic=5689&sortby=desc

    Also, there is an excellent audio, maashaa Allah by Abu Khadeejah Abdul-Waahid, entitled ‘Advice to the Muslimaat’. An admonition is included concerning those Parents who send their children to the schools of the non-Muslims. I tried to find it online free, but here is a link to the mp3. A very small price for the nasiha contained within it. May Allah Azza wa Jal reward the brother, Aameen.
    http://www.troid.ca/store/home.php?cat=286

    Lastly, we MUST be very careful about using the difference of opinion to fit with what we want to do. This is a dangerous affair. May Allah subhanahu wa ta’ala protect us from that, Aameen. I do apologize for the long post and inshaa Allah ta’ala I will make more attempts to post frequently. Jazaaki Allahu khayrun. May Allah subhanahu wa ta’ala aide all of us in educating our children according to the Qur’an and authentic Sunnah of the Messenger of Allah salAllahu alayhi wa salaam, Aameen.

    • Walaikum assalam sister, Always nice to hear from a lurker 😉

      JazakhaAllahu khairan for your comment. Alhamdulillah, I appreciate that this is what you believe but I have heard other opinions. I would also very kindly like to point out that not everyone follows the ‘Salafiyyah of Birmingham, Brixton and Croydon’ and so I just thought I would point that out. I do not wish to go into a detailed discussion about the saved sect etc. I spent too many years doing that and this is not what this blog is for. I have no intention in putting my children into a state school so I don’t think I am using the ‘difference of opinon’ cover up to fit in with what I wish to do as it isn’t what I wish to do. And yes, may Allah protect us from being insincere as this is what it amounts to. And my dear sister, may the One for whom you have loved me love you in return. Ameen. Please do feel free to post comments and once again jzk for your advice. x

    • Assalamu alaykum sister,

      Sister I do not call myself a salafi but I do agree with the fatawas. What the shaykhs said is known from the basis of our Deen and from various evidences. This is not a matter of difference of opinion.

      There are a lot of speculations by people using “difference of opinion” in issues that have no evidence supporting any difference.

      • Yes, I’m aware it is on the basis of the deen and I’m not saying that what they are saying is wrong or not in line with the Quran and sunnah.

        All I am saying is that there are difference of opinions also based on the Quran and sunnah. And of course, as you rightly said, there can’t be a difference of opinion without it being based on Quran and sunnah. Always important to refer to what those of knowledge say. Hope you are feeling well sister.

Leave a Reply

