Down Saaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaf!

Standard

Down Saaaaaaaf London, the Home Edders are breeding by the plenty! lol

SubhanAllah, when I was on Hajj I made so much dua for our own home ed and asked Allah to make it easy for all the sisters who are home educating. Most of my close friends live in East London and I’m about an hour away in South (Saaaaf) London. 🙂 I am forever trekking to East London for trips, activities and our weekly home ed group. But now I’m getting tired.

Since I’ve come back – Saaaf London Home Ed has taken off! Just yesterday a sister dropped something off to me and yesterday was her son’s first day of Home Ed. Other sisters I know are considering removing their children from school too.

The prospect of flexi schooling in a local Islamic School has arisen. So many parents have pulled their children out of this school to home ed that the school has decided to provide a flexischooling system for home edders. I’m not too sure at this point if I will take it up. The fact that these parents have pulled their kids out kinda speaks volumes to me!  I would need to see their teaching style etc. I might be interested in the weekly PE lessons as that is an option. The school is less than 10 minutes away from me so I might just take that option.

R started pottery again yesterday. When she started pottery in 2009 – she was the only Muslim home educated child there but a few of the South London HE muslim families have started taking their children. There were 6 of R’s Muslim friends there yesterday. When I picked her up, the pottery tutor mentioned how chatty the group was! Am so pleased alhamdulillah. We’ve also got a Jewellery workshop planned for the Home Edders in South in February and I’m planning to start up some other activities – am in talks with a few different organisations.

What else takes place down saaaf London – she does Kickboxing in our local masjid, Muslim Beavers. Some sisters have also started up a weekly South HE group but I love our East London group too much to abandon that.  There’s swimming classes for R’s age group and Z’s age group at a local leisure centre which they’ll start in a few weeks time inshaAllah. Z’s first activity!  🙂 Its called Aqua Tots2 – so I’m pleased that he’ll be starting something.

And then hopefully when the weather picks up – we’ll have some picnics with the other home edders! I’m so pleased things are ‘happening’ down saaaaf – alhamdulillah!

30 responses »

  1. Salaam – can you let me know the name of the school please – flexischooling seems to describe exactly what I am looking for…

    jzk

    x

  2. Assalaamu Alaikum!
    Oh oh I am getting jealous now : ) Its so wonderful and tempting all what you have described. I am so pleased to hear all this is happening there and is benefiting the home schooled kids Alhamdulillaah! May Allaah continue to shower His blessings. Aameen!

    • A good ‘mashaAllah’ type of jealousy I hope 😉 what I’ve realised is if I want things to happen for my kids in my area I need to organise things too myself x

  3. Assalamo alaikum,

    That’s great mashaAllah that things are flourishing. I too would look closely into the flexi school arrangement, it could be good for subjects that are harder to teach at home etc. Although the downside is that the days that they are “off” they are expected to complete the work that they have missed. Anyway, it could be the best of both worlds inshaAllah. I remember hearing good reports about that school, I think it is the montessori one?

    I have to admit it took me a while to get the “saaaaaf” thing, lol! Does everyone speak like that though? It brings me back to the days of Eastenders, lol.

    • Haha umm salam. No, we don’t all speak like that although some do. Depends where you grew up and how your parents spoke to you. Mine are both not English and educated so spoke well. But I must say I can break out into a cockney accent if I want 😉 yup date valley is the montessori one. But I haven’t been hearing terrific things I must say!

  4. Assalamualaykum,
    I’d be tempted by the PE classes. A lot of people withdrawing their children is not a good sign, but could it be more to do with financial issues with meeting the cost of fees than the quality of the school itself?

    • Most of the mums I know who have pulled their kids out can still afford it. Their reasons were not because of the money – but because they felt the education wasn’t good quality and their child just wasn’t happy in school.

  5. Congratulations sis it all sounds very exciting mashaAllah. I hope it works out for you, I too have to travel to all the HE, madressa, meeting friends stuff and your right it is very tiring so enjoy! xXx

  6. assalam alykum sis is there a possibility of meeting up with u, ive got a two year old and it would be nice to meet you and get tips on educating him etc.

  7. salaams , i am interested in the jewellery workshop for my daughter but for me it would have to be in the afternoon ….after 1230pm as she is doing hifz classes in the morning .
    also where is the pottery held?
    im in norbury/streatham?
    jazakallah
    sumaiya

  8. also please umm raiyaan, if there are more activities planned can we have them more locally ie streatham/norbury/thornton heath….and possibly in the afternoon. jazakaallah….x

    • I can’t guarantee that I’m afraid as I need to take everyone into consideration and it also depends on when the facilitator can do it.

  9. MashaAllah, sounds fab!!! makes me want to move down saaaaf 😉

    UmmR, have u looked into private swimming lessons for your 2? my boys have a swimming tutor once a week and its not that much more expensive than doing it in a group.

    MashaAllah, the progress they have made is amazing. neither boys could swim and the younger one was afraid of the water. so i started lessons in august, it took 21 days for the older one to swim without armbands and about 2months for the little one to swim without aides. it is absolutely mind blowing at how much progress they’ve made.

    When i look back to the time i was HEing they were in swimming classes for over a year and were still using floats and older one would just about put his face in the water. now they look lke fish lol. i just found the group sessions such a waste of time and money.

    x

  10. Assalamu Alaykum Dear Sister Umm Raiyaan,

    Alhamdulillah I started home-eding my 3 & 1/2 year girl couple months ago and recently moved back to East Lon where I’m orginally from.

    I’ve been trying to get onto the Ihsan forums with no success.

    Would love to join the East Lon home-ed group and any classes/activities around.

    I’m desperate lol, please get in touch with me!

    Jazaakillahu khairan

    Sister Um Khadeejah

  11. Assalamu Alaykum Warahmatullahi Wabarakaatuh Dear Sister Umm Raiyaan,

    Alhamdulillah I started home-eding my 3 & 1/2 year girl couple months ago and recently moved back to East Lon where I’m orginally from.

    I’ve been trying to get onto the Ihsan forums with no success.

    Would love to join the East Lon home-ed group and any classes/activities around.

    I’m desperate lol, please get in touch with me!

    Jazaakillahu Khairan

    Sister Um Khadeejah

  12. Asalaamualaikum, wow this flexi schooling sounds excellent mashallah! I’m a home schooler from leicester so cant send but if there was opening up near me, i’d definitely check it out-i’ve heard wonderful things about Date Valley and have loved the atmosphere there everytime i’ve visited mashallah. Definitely on my list of duas to have a Date Valley in leicester!

    • Yes, I too heard wonderful things about Date Valley but have heard very interesting honest accounts too from parents who have withdrawn their children. It seems that the teachers are trying to do their best mashaAllah but it just doesn’t suit some children and has actually been quite detrimental to some. I guess we’ll always hear different opinions but best to speak to sisters whose children have attended. I was with another sister whose boys go there and she was saying that she’s considering withdrawing them too to home ed. Strange. x

  13. Assalamu Alaykum Warahmatullahi Wabarakaatuh,

    Dear Sister,

    I want to join the East London home ed group,

    Please can you reply to this message asap letting me know how I can join.

    Please?

  14. Assalam Alaikum,

    Dear sisters just wanted to say as an active member of staff for Date Valley school Since 2002 I suggest that if you have heard things about the school it is better to clear with the school come and visit and see what we have to offer. every growing organisation has its strengths and weaknesses and the best of organisations and people are those that grow and work towards improving insha Allah. Some comments above seem very judgemental to me, they may be accounts you have heard from ex Date Valley parents and existing parents but don’t think you should judge the school on those accounts. I also know that people see and think in different ways but to pass judgements like this is not fair for any organisation or a person.

    my request to those parents as well is this that if you have issues come and speak to the school in a way you will be helping us to be better and provide a better environment for the children and Muslim community.

    Working with Date Valley for soo long I know that how hard working the Principal is and how it is her priority to adapt and make the school a healthy environment for the children and the parents .

    All teachers are very hard-working and try to do what is best for the children. I am not saying that we are perfect but I can assure you that The head teacher of Date Valley School is a very honest, enthusiastic and hard-working person. May Allah reward her for her efforts and dedication. I have seen the school grow learn and develop in all areas. Date Valley has always learnt from experiences and has tried to make them better.

    The flexi school is not because children are dropping out of DATE VALLEY school but its because we have a building and wanted to do something for the home educators.

    its easy for all of us to say things to others but the best way is to speak to the organization or the person in question, I think it is an opportunity to clear things out and also help others to correct themselves and gain the reward at the end of the day we are all striving for the pleasure of Allah and everything we are trying to do is to please our Lord. We may not agree with each other but we have to remember we are one ummah and we have to help each other to gain reward and become better MUslims and united.

    So please if there are any issues do address them with the school it will help us better ourselves and do what is pleasing to our LOrd insha Allah.
    Remeber! Date Valley was based on Islam and is flourishing day by day please come and help us by being better Muslims and educating our children to follow the Quran and Sunnah .

    Ya Allah guide us and the ummah and unite us !

    Jazak Allah Khairun

    Nadia Ali

    • Walaikum assalam Sister and thank you for stopping by and commenting. I believe we have met in person 🙂 Okay, in response to your long comment mashaAllah. Okay, so a few responses from me (I can’t speak for others including current or ex parents or others who left comments):

      1. I did visit Date Valley and as I said in the comments above – I saw some nice things mashaAllah but I also saw things that I felt weren’t good and I think each individual is entitled to their own opinion. So, based on the fact that I have visited the school and spoken to other parents – I can’t see that that is being judgmental and Allah knows best. May Allah forgive me if I was. Ameen.
      2. From all the current and ex-parents I know – they didn’t outrightly say that the school was bad, but just felt that it wasn’t suited to their children – and the education provided there lacked the quality they were looking for their children – nothing wrong with that. All parents discuss the quality of education provided by schools. It shouldn’t be taken in a personal way.
      3. I have met the Headteacher of Date valley and a few of the teachers I know personally. And all of them are very hardworking lovely sisters mashaAllah. No one said otherwise sister. And the comments that there were things people didn’t like about the school or the fact that parents are withdrawing their children from the school are in no way a judgment on the individual personalities of the head teacher or the teachers. Parents, children, teachers, governors, admin make up a school so you shouldn’t take it that people were criticising the head teacher or teachers.
      4. Thank you for your correction re why the flexi school was set up. I heard different and teaches me to clarify things with the main source first. Jzk!
      5. I personally have nothing I could bring to the school as I see education in a completely different light. But you might want to invite others who have had more experience in the school to say what they feel, make suggestions to improve it.
      6. Ameen to you lovely duas. Thumma Ameen!

  15. Assalam Aleykum,i live in sw and really would love to meet sisters that homeschool around ,the readon for that is that i seek sisters that can join the teaching in small groups,weather science or arts and crafts.I don’t enjoy that much beeing alone it pushes me more when I do in a group,if any sister is interester please call me or send me a text – 07748185073, ummZakariya

Leave a Reply

