Ummi, I want to be…

Standard

I’m sure all children at some point tell their parents what they want to be when they grow up. At the moment, Z wants to be a fireman.

R wanted to be a princess when she was three! And then when the whole ‘horse’ hobby started – she wanted to be a horse rider. But after finding out how much it costs to maintain a horse, I think she realised that we can’t afford it.

Recently, she’s been asking me a lot of questions surrounding a particular profession.

‘Ummi, if you become an author – can you work from home?’ ‘Do authors earn a lot of money?’ ‘Can you be an Illustrator and an Author at the same time?’ ‘What do authors have to study in order to publish their own books?’

She proclaimed this morning that she would like to become an author and wants to author a series of chapter books which she would like to illustrate herself. I told her that she would have to practice a lot of writing and drawing.

So, after coming back from Z’s swimming class today, we sat down and looked at the components of a book: blurb, contents page, publishers logo, pen portrait, ISBN etc. Alhamdulillah, looked through some English Letts books and found a lesson on it. She also completed that.

I’m sure she will want to be many things over the years but it seems as though her present wish is like that of my own dream. At her age, I remember making a book in primary school. The headteacher of the school thought it was so good that she asked my mother to come in and showed her my work. I remember sitting there at the age of 7 or 8 and hearing words that I can see now had a great impact in my life. ‘You can see she loves reading and writing. From the level of the writing in this book it looks like she’ll become a writer one day’. Ever since then, I’ve had this secret desire to write a book. Maybe my daughter will beat me to it! 😉 And why not? 🙂 Motherhood is the one time where you really want your children to be better than you in every single aspect.

2 responses »

  1. As salaamu alaykum,

    Show her your full motherly support, starting from now. Even if she aspires to become another professional in another field, she’ll still be using her writing talents in the path of Allaah.

    Nurture her passion for reading and writing, and enjoy the fruits of your labor from the beginning to the end.

    I am very grateful to my parents who instilled in me, a love for reading and writing at a very early age. Though I’m presently a health professional, I cannot do without reading or writing. My first love is reading, my first love is writing, my first love is anything that has to do with health.

    So, it can be done with your DD, insha Allaah.

    Keep it up!

    Love,

    Umm AR
    Health Professional, Avid Reader, Nutritionist, Freelance Writer, Editor-in-Chief.

Leave a Reply

