Hormones

Standard

I’ve got about 8 weeks to go insha’Allah til we meet the new addition to our family. Time has gone so quickly subhanAllah and I haven’t prepared anything.

Our home needs a lick of paint, baby’s cot needs to come out of storage and clothes and bag ready but I really don’t feel I have the energy or will at the moment!

I don’t know if its because I’m reaching the end – but I am really feeling it now  – very tired, constantly on the loo, and braxton hicks that feel like contractions. Blood tests have revealed am very anaemic which explains a lot.

I’m also a hormonal mess lol! I don’t feel I have patience with anyone or anything. My poor kids and husband.

I am running around like a crazy woman taking the kids to their different activities and am completely shattered all day everyday. Don’t feel like doing very much but am pushing myself because I feel as though I’ll be out of it for a while once baby is born.

I don’t want to sound ungrateful as every pregnancy and child is a real blessing from Allah but I’m seriously feeling very tired and old!

Home Ed has its ups and downs and right now I feel as though we’re on a downer because of my health. R is reading a lot mashaAllah – this is a real blessing as she likes reading non fiction books so she’s widening her knowledge. The boys just seem to be fighting constantly which is very draining.

I know this time will pass but just to show that home ed life is very very real and not a bunch of roses!

9 responses »

  1. Assalamo alaikum,

    With every hardship comes ease. Use this as your downtime before you become even busier inshaAllah! SubhanAllah we seem to become totally obsessed with home education, lol, and i need to remind myself often why i am doing it it. It is not to produce a genious, it is for the sake of Allah swt, in raising pious children inshaAllah. We will not be questioned in the grave about how many worksheets we missed, and remember in your previous post you mentioned the success of a girl who achieved a high grade with only several months study mashaAllah!

    Think of this as your maternity leave, it is an excellent time to regroup and reconnect with the kids inshaAllah. Read to them, watch with them, take walks in the park, read to them some more…… 🙂 If you feel really low about missed work, then print off some revision worksheets and make a “lucky dip” where they chose one randomly everday. At least that way you still have something on paper for that day.

    xxx

  2. Assalamo alaikum,

    Sorry to be back again so soon 😉 but I was just reminded of this saying of Ali ibn Talib (RAA)

    “Do not let your difficulties fill you with anxiety; after all, it is in the darkest of nights that the stars shine most brilliantly.”

    I do find that the times that i have left my children to their devices (due to stress/business etc) are often the most productive for them, subhanAllah!

  3. Asalamu Alecum sister when I seen you today I felt for you.May Allah make things easy for you sister. Don’t push yourself to hard I am sure the kids will not mind if you miss a few activities. xxx Caroline

  4. Assalamualaykum,
    I think “maternity leave” is most needed at the end of pregnancy. You are climbing to the top of a steep hill right now! You just have to get through it as best you can inshAllah. xxx

  5. Assalaamualaiki Sr,
    I really do hope and pray that Allah grants you ease with everything you are going through, and you are back to your chirpy self very soon, InshaAllah. Take some time to rejuvenate and slow down and focus on yourself for now, InshaAllah you will come through stronger after this period is over and that will help your children.
    Take care, WS

  6. AA wr wb sister, I am usually a silent reader, but decided to comment. I have been following this blog for a long time now. I had my 4th girl 9 month ago and went absolutely “mental” and I am still like that :). I had to put 2 of my oldest ones to school so I can finish my university (final year PhD in science) but I am taking them out inshA next term. Why? Because even when I was dead shuttered and barely managed to cover only one topic a day with my homed child (aged 7 1/2) and recited few surahs, even that was MORE MORE and MORE than she is learning at school now. I thought I was not doing enough, my house is a mess and etc etc , but I realized now that at school they are learning even less than that. So don’t worry about homed part at all inshA. Take a deep breath and have a cup of coffee and off you go inshA. Allah swt does not burden a soul with smth they can’t carry. And we are created so strong as mothers Alhamd. Everything will slowly settle , you just need somehow find a way to control your nerves and shout less (that is a reminder for myself here :)) and enjoy their smiling faces, they will grow up very soon. May Allah give your strength and sabr and reward you abundantly. PS: I used to get energized after reading your posts and jump back on my track even if I was so tired and pregnant.

  7. Awh mashaAllah some really good replies there and a good reminder as to what home education is about…there is nothing to add except get yourself down to Boots sis, if you can and buy some liquid Iron ‘Spatone’ (2 sachets a day are recommended during pregnancy). It’s brilliant, it goes straight into your blood and there are no side effects as its just naturally iron-rich water. InshaAllah you’ll find ease and contentment in your situation. PS the post by sister fatimah was very enlightening and when my oldest had a spell at school I found the same- that even on our ‘down’ homeschooling days we learnt a lot more than they do at an average day at school..:-)

  8. May Allah swt make it easy for all of you. A scholar said- “When she has her first baby, she must manage for another life even more dependent on her personal sacrifices. By the second, third, or fourth child, her days and nights belong almost entirely to others.

    Whether she has a spiritual path or not, such a mother can seldom resist a glance at the past, when there were more prayers, more meanings, more spiritual company, and more serenity.

    When Allah opens her understanding, she will see that she is engaged in one of the highest forms of worship, that of producing new believers who love and worship Allah.

    She is effectively worshipping Allah for as many lifetimes she has children, for the reward of every spiritual work her children do will be hers, without this diminishing anything of their own rewards: every ablution, every prayer, every Ramadan, every hajj, and even the works her children will in turn pass on to their offspring, and, so on till the end of time.

    Even if her children do not turn out as she wishes, she shall be requited in paradise forever according to her intention in raising them, which was that they should be godly.

    Aside from the tremendous reward, within the path itself it is noticeable that many of those who benefit most from khalwa or “solitary retreat of dhikr” are women who have raised children.

    With only a little daily dhikr and worship over the years, but much toil and sacrifice for others, they surpass many a younger person who has had more free time, effort, and “spiritual works.”

    What they find is greater because their state with Allah is greater; namely, the awe, hope, and love of the Divine they have realized by years of sincerity to Him.”

Leave a Reply

