The ‘period’ chat

Standard

At the weekend, the girls and I went out to visit a sister who had just had a baby.

After we left, I took R out for a hot chocolate and we had ‘the chat’ about periods and puberty. I have been planning to do this for some time and am so glad I did it when I did.

She is slowly showing signs of change and I just felt it was the right time. MashaAllah she was very mature about it and asked lots of questions.

Am so glad she didn’t hear about it from anyone else aside from me. I tried to emphasise that she is slowly moving towards more changes and that she isn’t accountable at the moment but will be accountable one day and so needs to start implementing some changes – ready for when the angels begin writing down her deeds.

I’m not too eager for her to become baligh – I want her to remain young and accountable for as long as possible inshaAllah…but if she follows me, it could be very soon as I was 9 years old!

3 responses »

  1. Assalamu alaikum sister.

    You mean UNaccountable at the end there, lol, I get what you mean!

    I registered with the homeschooling forum a few months ago but I cant seem to log in. I wondered if you could please help me out?

    Jazakallah khair in advance.

    Umm

  2. As salaamu alaykum!

    It’s good that she got to know about such feminine talk and tarbiyah from you.

    Maa shaa Allaah Tabarak’Allaah.

    I started when I was 15. There were no prior preps for me.
    I hope to be there for my daughter. U always learn from other people’s mistakes.
    May Allaah spare our lives to gather more good deeds, aameen!

Leave a Reply

