Do it your way!

Standard

I had a conversation with a dear friend yesterday who expressed feeling somewhat overwhelmed with home ed and the demands of being a home ed mum aswell as other responsibilities.

We spoke at length and I advised her to take a step back like I did a few months ago and really look at what she wants for HER family. No two home ed families are the same. Each journey is unique. One home ed family may be a very arty family. Another might be more into computer based learning. One might have decided to scrap academics in favour for hifdh for a few years. Another might be very academically focused. There’s no one right way to home ed. It very much depends on the parents, children, their learning environment and their current life circumstances.

A family with 4+ children will home ed differently to a family who have 1 or 2 children. A family who have a baby will be in a different situation to a family who have teenage children. Etc etc

So, it’s important to look at YOUR family and your situation and think about what is important for you as a family and home ed that way. Make resource choices YOUR way, subject choices YOUR way, ways of learning which suit YOUR children.

When we home ed OUR way, that’s when we really begin to enjoy the journey. I think a lot of home ed mothers feel stressed when they try to imitate the way someone else home eds or try to be a certain home ed family that they’re not. It causes so much stress for the mother. Make it easy on yourself.

Four words. Do it your way!

15 responses »

  1. Jazakallah khair soooooooooo much for your advice. I need this advice at the moment so much now. I am struggling so much that I have fallen ill. I decided to review my home ed and look into the reasons why I am homeschooling. Please make dua for me.

    • Yes sometimes by just taking a step back, we’re able to see more clearly and make better decisions. May Allah guide you to what is best. Ameen.

  2. Salaam,
    I really agree, finding your home ed way will help keep you on track with home ed for as long as you want it to last, inshAllah. I find that trying to copy other peoples’ methods takes up much more mental space than just getting on with things. And the best ideas tend to come when you are not overthinking them, imo.

  3. Asalamualaykum

    I’m just wondering if anyone has any thoughts to share…I’m considering starting home ed, however concerned that I will not be able to keep up with my personal studies? I intend to home ed a four year old and have an older sibling at school. Does home ed overwhelm ones time to this extent?
    Your thoughts are appreciated , may Allah grant you all khayr .xx

Leave a Reply

