Email that touched me. .

Standard

My plan was to make the blog private due to some personal reasons. I didn’t feel many readers would mind as the comments on the blog have been quiet in recent posts.

I was quite shocked at how many private emails I received requesting it to remain open as it has helped with ideas for kids, resources etc. I think most of you readers are lurkers! !

I apologise if I haven’t responded to you privately. There was one email that I received from a sister who doesn’t comment but has been following the blog for many years. It touched me, made me fill up with tears and made me rethink my decision to go private. So inshaAllah it is public again and to the sister that sent me that email. .. Jzk for having a profound impact on me and causing me to reflect on what I do and what’s important to me.

So update from us. .

We’ve had in laws over from Algeria staying with us over the last few weeks. As the children hardly ever get to see my husband’s side of the family every year due to them living abroad, it has been nice for them. But it’s also meant that pretty much everything has gone out of the window!

I find it quite frustrating as R’s Quran schedule is badly affected. She feels it too!  We have started to get back to some sort of normality since they left.

Aside from lots of play, the kids have visited practically every museum in London due to taking the in laws.

I found some cheap sets of magnetix on gum tree to add to the boys collection. They take that out 5x + per day.

image

R attended a local textiles class and made the cushion in the picture above. She used the sewing machine and glue gun. Quite a nice pretty result mashaAllah. The sister who teaches the class is very creative mashaAllah and it was very kind of her to set up a class just for home educated girls during her break from being a teacher.

image

image

We also attended a trip visiting the Brixton windmill which R particularly enjoyed. It came at the right time as we had just finished a project on wind. This windmill is one of the only ones in inner London and is 10 mins from where we live. .. Didn’t know it existed!

Zuzu is as creative as ever. Here he has made a Knight costume and wouldn’t take it off for ages! !

image

Amazing what he can make with bags,Β  paper, tape and a cereal box!

Finally, a sister shared this excellent article with me. I definitely recommend reading it. ..

http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/comment/give-childhood-back-to-children-if-we-want-our-offspring-to-have-happy-productive-and-moral-lives-we-must-allow-more-time-for-play-not-less-are-you-listening-gove-9054433.html

15 responses »

  1. I am one of those “Lurkers” Thank you for staying public, your portrait of a homeschool life and mothering is inspirational.

  2. Assalam Alaikum Warehmatullahi wa Barakatuhu Habibti,

    Yeeeeee, I am Soooo soo glad you are staying up public. alhumdulillah, We have used sooo many of your inspirational ideas bi izn Allah. I know I hardly ever comment on stuff but we are here, lurking around, getting tips from this blog that has changed my attitude towards homeschooling. jazak Allahu khair my dear wa barak Allahu feeki. May Allah Subhan wa TaΓ‘lah make this journey easy for you n your family. wa Salam warehmatullahi wabarakatuhu πŸ™‚

    • Ws wr wb
      Awww am glad you have benefitted. It is nice to hear from lurkers. Makes me want to blog more when I hear from those who read that it’s helping them in their own journey.

  3. Asalamu alaykum
    im so glad your keeping the blog public..i am indeed one of those lurkers too and have veen for years lol.you are such an inspiration sister it would have been a great loss for many had you kept it private and im glad you changed your mind.
    remember us in your duas xx wslm

    • Walaikum assalam
      Don’t know about being an inspiration! You should see me on my bad days! InshaAllah I hope it does benefit others.

  4. Assalamoalaikum sister. Allah reward you for allowing us to still be part of ur group. Alhamdulillah.

    Allah reward you and your family. Ease your difficulties and give you good in this world And the next. Ameen.

    Look forward to being a more active member as my son is 3.5 now maashaaAllah so I feel I can use more of the ideas now.
    Jazakillah khair.
    Umm Abdullah.

  5. assalamu alaikum
    jazakallah khair sis for not making it private. i was getting teary when i was reading your post. I do comment sometimes but not many times. However i check my email every day to see whether you posted anything new. You made me so happy alhamdulillah. i have been homeschooling for few months and your blog was always part of my homeschool. May allah make it easy for you to continue this blog, ameen

  6. I’m not a home schooler but have got lots of ideas from u when I teach my kids
    Btw I too lived 10mins from the windmill!!maybe we know each other!
    ! (I’ve moved to bham now but come back every few weeks to visit family!) uv reminded me to take kids there:)

Leave a Reply

