Breakthrough with Zuzu! !!

Standard

SubhanaAllah by the mercy of Allah I’ve had a huge breakthrough with Zuzu today. Those who have a ‘different child’ will know what I’m talking about. It’s a child that has your face on the prayer mat constantly imploring Allah for guidance and sabr.

Aside from creative making and skateboarding, it’s an uphill struggle teaching Zuzu. I have to be extremely patient with him which I’m often not 😦

He is very slow academically and really not interested in very much. Teaching him is such a test SubhanaAllah. Multiple times I’ve considered putting him in school.

Today I saw a completely different side to Zuzu. We were doing some Singapore Math and initially I thought this is going to take him a very long time. The thing with Singapore Math is something called CPA… You can read more about it here:

http://www.mathsnoproblem.co.uk/concrete-pictorial-abstract

SubhanaAllah I feel like crying. Not only did Zuzu really understand it but for the first time ever he really enjoyed math and asked me to do 2 more exercises!!!

And the reason why he ‘got it’ and enjoyed it so much is because he’s a kinesthetic learner. Meaning that he has to physically touch or handle things in order to learn. Singapore Math is quite big on this. I always had an incline that he was this type of learner. However today, as I sat with him and watched as he whizzed through exercise after exercise because he was using different manipulatives that he moved around, it dawned on me where I’ve gone wrong as his educator and mother.

Today was such a huge moment for both him and myself. Not because he asked me todo more math and enjoyed it. But because I now realise what I really need to do as his mother and educator and hopefully inshaAllah this will change so much for him. Ameen! !

So I’ll be doing heaps and heaps of research on kinesthetic learners,Β  kinesthetic parenting and discipline.

Truly a light bulb moment even though it’s been staring me in the face for such a long time!

16 responses »

  1. Assalamu alaikum,
    I know exactly what you are talking about sis. My second child exactly the same. I actually decided to do Singapore maths with her.

  2. MashaAllah, happy for both of you. Please kindly share with us anything you learn on kinesthetic learning. I have a feeling one of my children might be the same way. Jazaki Allah khair!

  3. Salaam, twelve years or so ago when I was doing home ed research I had no clue about how to do maths so I paid special attention to looking into methods for maths. At that time what I came across was predominantly what is described in the CPA link you gave. That was the method I used very strictly with my boys back then. I was almost terrified about introducing the coded form too soon, and delayed and delayed with it as the books I read warned of dire consequences of introducing the codes before the concepts had been fully absorbed. The ancient Scottish primary maths scheme was ideally matched with this method. None of my children are hands on learners, it is the approach I used for all of them, as I didn’t have knowledge of an alternative way. So, I’d say it works for everyone inshAllah not just the hands on types.
    May Allah give Z success after success, ameen

  4. Jazak Allah sister for all your posts. I don’t usually reply but I read it all.
    Thank you for all the ideas and advice. May Allah bless all of our families and make us better parents. Ameen

  5. Alhamdulilah! It’s always exciting to find something that works for your child! You will find a lot of “hands-on” resources when you start searching for it. Pinterest is a goldmine, in sha Allah. πŸ™‚

    • Oh yes I love pinterest… Check out my boards inshaAllah. We have quitea lot of hands on resources at home. I really need to include them more in our homeEd now. Jzk for your comment.

  6. assalamu alaikum

    my daughter will turn 5 in may, i really need help and guidance on how/what to do. i would prefer to use a curriculum to avoid wasting time rummaging through the many resources available out there.
    any advise would be greatly appreciated.

  7. salaam sis how are you? Would you be able to post some pictures of the books excercises from the begining middle and end so i can see the level please.

Leave a Reply

