Post office and Postcrossing! !

Standard

image

Whilst I’m a firm believer in planning home Ed,  I’ve learnt over the years that it’s crucial to be spontaneous and follow the child’s lead.

I was going to go and post a few items and Zuzu was jumping up and down to go to the post office to post his card to his penpal. Instead of taking all 4 kids with me,  I delayed it to when my husband could be home with the other three. On route, we discussed the need for a stamp,  writing the address and his own on the back and what happens to the letter once we’ve paid for postage. Simple conversation really but what was nice was it was just the two of us and rather than me tell him about the process, he witnessed it.  Our local post office is run by a Muslim aunty and uncle and they answered his questions and let him observe everything they were doing. I truly believe Home edders need to try and grab these moments of interest and act on them.

Whilst at the post office, Zuzu saw a rack of postcards. It reminded me of something I’ve wanted to do for ages. …
POSTCROSSING! !!

So when we came home, we finally signed up to http://www.postcrossing.com and the system initiated three addresses: one to Russia, one to Germany and one to the Netherlands! All recipients were adults.  Zuzu and R both wrote their messages. And I wrote the last one with a message about Islam. What is great is the recipients will never have your address to reply to! So I’m seeing this as a good dawah opportunity inshaAllah.

I highly recommend Postcrossing but make sure you understand how it works and don’t let your kids do it on your own as it involves adults too! Oh and on the advice of another sister who has been doing it, when your post comes through don’t let kids who can read pick up the post!

We’re planning to make this educational by marking in green on a map of the world where we’ve sent postcards to. And then in blue arrows all the countries that have sent us postcards. For each country we’ll learn something about that country.

Do check it out!

4 responses »

  1. I’ve never heard of Post Crossing before. I will have to check that out, in sha Allah! My teen daughter has a penpal from Dubai (we’re in the US) and they now consider each other besties because they’ve written each other for so long! What a fun way to get to know people from around the world! I think she’ll think Post Crossing is a cool idea, too!

  2. Salaam, we did it last year and made a lap book out of the cards. We didn’t get anything inappropriate alhamdulillah. I registered with a child’s age so people knew they would be sending to a child. We got one from a teenage boy from Taiwan and one from a cat in New Zealand. Yes, the cat wrote in first person.

    • Ws loooool. We registered as a group so didn’t ask for age. Lol that’s so funny about the cat. Kids are very excited about what might come through!

Leave a Reply

