Where have we been?

Standard

It has been a few years since I’ve blogged. That makes me feel somewhat sad. This blog has been private for some time and I’ve decided to reopen it due to a number of requests.

Wow, to think that I started it back in 2007 and here we are almost 10 years later.

What’s new?

Well…

R is 12, Zuzu is 8 (soon to be 9), Y is 6 (soon to be 7) and baby S is soon to be 4 inshaAllah.

And…

We live in Algeria!

The children are still being home educated the British system. R, Zuzu, and Y all experienced school for the first time. Yup – they went from fully home educated and ‘at home’ from birth to an Algerian school and the Algerian curriculum! Probably need to blog about it.

So, we’re here in North Africa – our new home, learning, growing, falling out, laughing, crying, struggling, triumphing…living.

The blog is open to you all again. Hope it will still be of benefit to those of you who wish to revisit.

Looking back at old posts – wow, how things have changed and how the children have changed.

May Allah help all of us in raising these little and ‘not-so-little-anymore’ believers. Ameen.

 

***Update*** R asked me what I was doing as I wrote this post – she couldn’t remember that I had run a blog! What an emotional time for me to look at her now aged 12 as she reads the blog that was started when she was just younger than 3 years old!

Your sister,

Umm Raiyaan

 

 

 

8 responses »

  1. AsSalam Alaikum wa rehmatullahi wa barakatuhu dearest,

    Soooo sooo soooo happy to read a blog post on ummi homeschools me after such a long time. Alhumdulillah. Allahumma barik laki my dear.

    My son Bilal is a few months younger than R. Eventhough I could not homeschool him but had followed your blog and took a bunch of inspirational ideas thru out his younger years.

    Alhumdulillah, hope n pray to learn so much more from you and the kids again.
    May Rabbana protect you all and keep u on the right path till you meet Him. Ameen Allahumma ameen

    Jazak Allahu khair wa barak Allahu feeki

    Wa Salam wa rehmatullahi wa barakatuhu

    Umm BilalZ.

    • Walaikum assalam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu,

      Awww you’re an old reader mashaAllah! Ameen to your beautiful ad’aiya my dear sister. May Allah grant you the same. Ameen.

  2. Yaaay!!!!
    Assalamualaikum dear sister

    I’m so glad the blog is back!
    Wow, you moved! How did the children cope with moving countries?

    Sis, as a veteran homeschooler (Lol) can you share your do’s and dont’s for homeschooling now that your daughter is 12, what do you wish you’d done better, left out till later etc?

    And can you do a post on your daughters Hifz – I read on one of the posts that you mentioned doing more revision and consolidation of what she has memorised before moving on – how did that go?
    Looking forward to more posts inshaAllah

    Jazakillahukherun

    Umm Deen x

    • Walaikum assalam sister!

      It was challenging and they seem to have settled well mashaAllah.
      I will definitely aim to write a post inshaAllah. 🙂

  3. Assalamualaikum dear sister

    Yaay!!! so glad the blog is back, I look forward to reading your posts inshaAllah.
    As a veteran homeschooler (lol) , when you look back to when you started homeschooling your daughter is there anything you would’ve done differently, added to or left out?
    Also would you be able to do a post about your daughters hifth, I think I remember reading you was concentrating on muraja’ah before moving forward – did this work?
    Jazakillahukherun

Leave a comment