Daily Archives: January 7, 2012

Winter day refletions

Standard

Before I talk about home ed, just thought I’d clarify something. Jzk to all the sisters for their kind concerns offline but honestly I am fine alhamdulillah. I think there was a bit of confusion with my ‘Up and Down’ post. When I mentioned ‘Up and Down’ I was referring to my blog (ie it being open one minute and closed the next). Alhamdulillah, I am well, enjoying the home ed journey, struggling to be the best Mum I can be (including the many times I fall and fail) 🙂

Winter Days – we definitely spend more time at home but I really do make a conscious effort to take the kids out to our local common to get some much needed exercise and fresh air. R and Z love going down the hill on their scooters – it is a sight to see!

Home Ed is just carrying on as usual. Those of you who have been following the blog will know that when R was very young (too young lol) we were very structured (perhaps that is an understatement) and then we tried unschooling completely and now alhamdulillah we have settled in to what I feel is great for our family – right smack bang in the middle and as most ‘veteran’ home edders said – you end up taking the middle path and become semi structured. I know some of you are probably smiling saying ‘Told you so!’ And I’m smiling right back at you – yup you were right!  Actually reminds me of my journey over the past almost 13 years – came into Islam through a political party, left that and then went to the other extreme where everything was haram (the amount of clothes, books and CDs I threw away – and now regret. Everyone was on bidah and I thought I knew it all and could make takfir on everyone (may Allah forgive me) and then alhamdulillah I feel that the last 8 years has been the middle way and I ask Allah to keep me on the siraatul mustaqeem. Ameen.

I like the semi structured method because it allows the children to learn naturally but also teaches them about structure just as our deen is structured by the five daily prayers etc.

I am also trying to follow the saying of Ali (RA) to let them play until 7, discipline and teach them for 7 years after that and then befriend them. R turned 7 a couple of months ago and I’m trying to focus on reminding her of the prayer times. It isn’t compulsory on her to pray until she is 10 (assuming she doesn’t start her menses before that) but I would like her to get into the habit of realising there are five times each day when everything else needs to stop. Later on, I’ll begin to correct her sujood, ruku, sitting positions etc.

SubhanAllah the wisdom is there in the age of 7 as it really is a turning point in a child. You can see why a parent is told to teach their child to pray at this age and not before. Our Islamic Studies has been completely unstructured – it has mostly been based on discussion, what she sees me do but really based on conversation. But I’d like to begin to do a little structured learning for Islamic Studies now and so have a few ideas which hopefully I can share later.

She’s still Horse mad and I’m constantly finding her reading or making something about horses. I wonder when this phase will end. How they grow so fast – seems only yesterday that she was learning to blend letter sounds..