Murajaah (quran revision)

Standard

I haven’t posted about hifdh for a while, I think it’s mainly because it’s just part and parcel of life and we just tend to get on with it.

I thought I would share some of the ways we schedule hifdh and murajaah which I hope will be  beneficial for some of you.

Okay, so to start with, if anyone has a goal in mind for their children to inshaAllah become huffadh one day, I really recommend you start with your children when they are young… it doesn’t have to be a lot but as long as there is consistency.

I see a huge difference between children who were memorising from a young age and children that haven’t.

Let your children get excited about quran, do a little everyday and keep at it. It will pay off later when they are seriously doing hifdh and have to spend 3-4+ hours per day on hifdh and murajaah. This may seem a lot and it is if a child has not been accustomed to  spending regular time with the Quran.

The aim is to build the child’s ability to memorise a minimum of a page a day. Once they reach this level then the real journey begins. Again, it might seem a lot but if a young child is used to memorising say 1 ayah per day then 3 then 5 lines, then 10 etc then 1 page it will inshaAllah be easy for them.

I’m not going to speak too much about the way to do hifdh as a) there are many different methods and b) anyone can become a haafidh with time and dedication.

What I’d like to focus on is murajaah (revision). Oh my… murajaah. ..*sigh*

Murajaah is a journey in itself. It is very much a journey for the one memorising as it is for the one ensuring that the murajaah is regularly being done.

Let me start by saying that murajaah is probably more important than hifdh. A child who memorises but doesn’t have a regular and consistent murajaah program is wasting their time. There is no point memorising if revision does not take place.

I have realised that murajaah will change throughout the hifdh journey…. sometimes due to the student’s needs and sometimes due to the needs of the ‘murajaah manager’!!

Eg, a few weeks ago R’s murajaah was to read 2 juzz per day of quran she has already memorised with the aim of completing all of what she has memorised at least in 1 week to 10 days. I assigned this to her partly because prior to that we had done a long spell of me testing her by listening to all her memorised ajaza and partly because I just didn’t have the time to test her on previous hifdh. The most important thing is to keep the murajaah going even if the child is just listening.

At the moment R’s daily murajaah consists of the following:

1. Preparing the portion she had memorised that morning. Preparation here means that she needs to get it ready for me to listen to. No mistakes allowed. So, she does her hifdh in the morning and then prepares that portion she did  for me later in the day. I listen to her and underline the mistakes in the mushaf. If she makes mistakes she has to go back over it again and again until it is perfect.

2. Preparation of the last 5 pages memorised. She is allowed 3 small mistakes. I then listen to her and again mark the mistakes.

3. Old hifdh. .. this is all old hifdh. At the moment she has to prepare 10 pages for me to listen to. I then listen and underline any mistakes. We just move from juzz to juzz. The only problem with this is it takes ages for her to be tested on all previous hifdh by just doing half a juzz per day, so I tend not to do this regularly as it takes up so much time and is tiring for her and causes me worry because it’s a long time before she revisits the first 10 pages I tested her on. If we’re doing murajaah this way, then I try to ensure she’s listening to as much old hifdh as possible whilst doing easy tasks.

4. Preparation for the following day’s hifdh. She has to read, listen and rescue that portion 10 – 15 times just before she goes to sleep. The reason for the timing is that she goes to sleep with it and it is fresh when she wakes up with that portion being repeated in her mind when she does her hifdh in the morning.

After this, I think I will put her back onto reading and listening and reciting ti a few ajaza per day as the testing 10 pages is quite long and slow. It is very important that the child revises all quran memorised in no longer than 2 weeks otherwise they forget.

I’m not sure if any of this has helped and I’m sorry if I’m not making sense. . My eyes are forcing  themselves closed.

In summary, be very strict with your children’s murajaah, swap between them listening, Reading and reciting and being tested. Murajaah without testing isn’t really murajaah. They need to recite whatthey’ve learnt tosomeone. Balance is needed.

The mother must be ready to sacrifice he time to test/listen etc. It isn’t easy but inshaAllah it will be worth it for them and us. Ameen!!

15 responses »

  1. JazakAllah khair, this is really helpful. My eldest is just on to learning his 3rd Juz, mashAllah. He can learn the new portion very fast, but the revision is the killer! I have nobody here to ask, so I have no idea if we are doing it ‘right’. Alhamdulillah, we seem to be doing similar things to you guys, but significantly less content. We are learning about a page a week, give or take. I would like to increase, but it is a struggle to get them to agree (!) and also a struggle to fit everything in.

    • Waiyaki sister. Alhamdulillah glad it helped. What I suggest you do is increase his amount line by line then it won’t be too much. So 2 weeks on 7 lines then increase it to 8 etc. But of course this is only if you have a target to complete hifdh in 2 3 years etc.

  2. Asalamualaikum sis i have been meaning to ask what exactly is Murajaah? I haven’t been able to find an explanation anywhere for some reason! Jazakillah khair x

  3. Aslamualakum, I’m just wondering are you yourself a hafidha? I can’t imagine doing this myself without actually knowing much Quran myself so looking to find a teacher for my children inshallah. How long would you suggest a beginner should spend on the Quran through out the day, how many times and how long and what should we be working on?

    • Ws I wish I was! My husband is a haafidh mashaAllah. But I am in charge of sorting out her murajaah. I would just start small inshaAllah. Even 3 Ayat a week is something.

  4. assalamu alaykum
    I really enjoy reading your blog. Just wanted to clarify does your daughter have a Quran teacher to correct tajweed? Also what about when you are on your cycle and cannot touch or read Quran – how do you correct or help then?

  5. Salaam pls can someone help. my son finished juz amma and now nearly finishing juz 29 . He just turned 8 and despite reading regularly and reviewing regular he still forgets. I am right now finding it hard to teach him cos he learns and he forgets. always get complain from his teacher. I think he doesnt concentrate and he doesn’t want to learn quran. he is always into games and fun.And when he reading he doesn’t bother with maad. GunnA etc. .although he knws it. pls make dua for me that my son become hafiz for sake of allah. pls someone advice. may allah reward u greatly for your kind advice

    • Walaikum assalam
      It is normal for them to forget and make some mistakes. I would say try to give him incentives, he gets 30 mins play time if he gets 90% of the surah right. Some people don’t concentrate too much on tajweed rules. This will come later after he’s finished his hifdh and does murajaah of the whole Quran inshaAllah. I would also decide to maybe give him a break if it is causing distress for him as I personally don’t see a point in doing hifdh with a child if they end up hating the Quran. May Allah make it easy for you. Ameen

  6. Salaam pls can someone help. my son finished juz amma and now nearly finishing juz 29 . He just turned 8 and despite reading regularly and reviewing regular he still forgets. I am right now finding it hard to teach him cos he learns and he forgets. always get complain from his teacher. I think he doesnt concentrate and he doesn’t want to learn quran. he is always into games and fun.And when he reading he doesn’t bother with maad. GunnA etc. .although he knws it. pls make dua for me that my son become hafiz for sake of allah. pls someone advice. may allah reward u greatly for your kind advice

Leave a comment